latest newsNewsPreviewSliderSport>Basket Ball

Zone Five: UCU Skip APR, Face KPA In Must Win

Friday, October 5

UCU Lady Canons 62-51 APR

Saturday, October 6

Welkite vs Equity

Sole Uganda representatives at the ongoing FIBA Africa Zone Five championship in Tanzania managed to overcome Rwanda’s APR on Friday.

UCU who led 28-19 at halftime held on to register a 62-51 hard fought victory.

Vilma Acheing scored a game high 15 points, Rose Akon added 12 points and Brenda Kayaga contributed 11 points in the victory.

Nicole Urwibusto and Charlot Umugwaneze scored 12 and 9 points for the Rwandese side.

Zainah. Courtesy Photo

“We managed to limit their big men and cut out the driving lanes for the guards,” stated UCU’s Zainah Lokwameri in a phone interview with ChimpSports.

This, was the club’s second win in the campaign. The team lost to Equity 57-71 in the opener before beating up on Wolkite 94-27.

The team will now face off with defending champions Kenya Ports Authority in what is to be a do or die game.

UCU Lady Canons.

Lokwameri adds: “We need this one badly as it will put us in the medal brackets. It is a must win for us to get better results compared to last year and we are ready to play as a team.”

KPA have three wins from as many games so far. The side defeated APR (Rwanda), JKT (Tanzania) and Wolkite (Ethiopia).

APR Team. Courtesy photo

In the other Saturday games, Welkite face Equity as JKT play APR.

It should be noted that a defeat will all but end UCU’s chances of finishing in the top two – A feat that gives one a chance to take part on the FIBA Africa Champions Cup.

KPA are the defending champions. Courtesy photo

After todays’ game, UCU will play JKT as KPA will face countrymates Equity on Sunday. Equity have also won three games.

In the Men’s category where Uganda was not represented, Egypt’s Smouha and Al Ahly will take on KPA (Kenya) and REG (Rwanda) respwcfjvely in the semis.

UCU Players and their points vs APR

Rhoda Naggita (5), Zainah Lokwameri (10), Brenda Kayaga (11), Proscovia Arach (2),Nabbosa Maimuna (0), Esther Akwap (0), Sarah Ageno (2), Hajara Najjuko (2), Rose Akon Macuel (12), Sarafina Driciru (2), Vilma Owino Achieng (15).

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker