URA Speaks Out on Reshuffle

Uganda Revenue Authority have opened up on a recent reshuffle announced by the embattled Commissioner General Doris Akol, order amidst controversies that surround the body’s role in the 6billion shillings bonus scandal; for which she and other officials are currently being probed by Parliament.

The reshuffle, ampoule which saw senior URA officials including the Spokesperson Sarah Banage moved to other offices, left some of URA employees asking questions.

Following a Chimpreports story in which some of the workers expressed their concerns about the shake-up, URA yesterday came out and publicized the full list of affected officials, explaining that the changes were normal and aimed at helping the body hit its revenue targets.

With no more than 5 months to the close of the fiscal year, the authority says the changes are part of its strategy to hit its Shs 13 trillion revenue target.

In a statement, the Manager Public and Corporate Affairs Ian Rumanyika clarified that the reshuffle was not informed by the ongoing Presidential Handshake debate.

“We correct any wrong impression that has been created,” he said.

“The redeployment is in line with the human resource manual and existing employment contract that; a member of staff can be redeployed as and when need arises.”

The new changes according to Rumanyika, take effect on February 15 2017.


“Re-deployment is among the standard best practices in institutional management. At Uganda Revenue Authority, this is a routine occurrence at all levels from officers to top management,” he added

“This exercise, as is the case elsewhere, is expected to culminate into better execution of our mandate.”

The full list:

Assistant Commissioners

1 William Kiganda AC Process Management Human Resources
2 James Odong AC Service Management Process Management
3 Robinah Nakakawa AC Large Taxpayer Office Service Management
4 Silajji Kanyesigye AC Compliance Management Large Taxpayer Office
5 Matthew Mugabi AC  – Executive Assistant to Commissioner General Tax Investigations
6 Irene K Bashabe AC Tax Investigations Compliance Management
7 Vincent Seruma AC Human Resources Public and Corporate Affairs
8 Sarah B Banage AC Public and Corporate Affairs Executive Assistant to Commissioner General
9 Joseph Mwangala AC Customs Audit Internal Audit
10 Joseph Okecho AC Internal Audit Customs Audit



Rose Wangwe IAC Compliance DT Northern Region
1. Dr. Geoffrey Okaka RPD Customs Legal & Bonds
Nicholas Kanabahita Legal & Bonds RPD
2. Micah Gaalya RPD Projects Development (Concept and Proposals Development)
Jeremy Nduru Procurement Projects Development (Procurement)
3. Joshua Turyamushangayo Administration Projects Development (Infrastructure and Support Services)
4. Ronald Kaboha Records and Registries Administration
5. Richards Nkunya Mugisha Kampala South Projects Development (DT)
6. James Kamara Kampala North IAC Compliance
7. Nixon Twebaze Northern Region Eastern Region
8. Ruth Matovu Eastern region Central Service Office
9. Asadu Kisitu Customs South Western Projects Development (Customs)
10. Jessie Abonyo Human Resource Development Projects Development (HR & Change Management)
11. Jamil Senyonjo Central Service Office Kampala South
Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker