latest newsNewsSliderSport>Soccer

UPL: Tooro Hold URA For Sixth Successive Draw

Tuesday, December 4
URA FC 0-0 Tooro United

URA and Tooro United played to a goalless draw in one of the two StarTimes Uganda Premier League match day nine games played on Tuesday.

Both teams created less chances in an odourless game played at Mandela National Stadium in Namboole.

URA who looked slightly the better side on the day, had Peter Lwasa face the goal keeper inside the first 30 minutes but the forward couldn’t beat Joel Mutakubya in goal.

Joachim Ojera also missed with his header as his effort at close range went over the bar. Ojera delivered many crosses in his man of the match performance but the side were utterly blunt.

In the second stanza, Coach Sam Ssimbwa brought on Vitalis Tabu, Odong Mathew and Abdullah Nyanzi to improve on the attacking line but the side couldn’t break the deadlock.

Late in the game, the hosts had a chance to kill off the game but Lwasa arrived late and missed Odong’s begging cross.

Tooro at the other end didn’t look a big threat on the day. Simon Ssrunkuma’s effort was easily collected by James Alitho in the 54th minute.


Tooro’s best chance on the day fell to Allan Kayiwa when he controlled the ball inside the area but his half volley was off the target.

This, is the seventh draw for the Tax collectors overall, six in a row and this was their fifth goalless stalemate consecutively.

URA have now moved to eighth on the log with 13 points. The team’s two wins came against Paidha and Ndejje.

Tooro’s only win came against BUL in Jinja and the visitors have now gone seven games without a win. The club has now collected seven points from nine games.

Next for URA is a trip to Mbarara as Tooro will host Nyamityobora in Buhinga Stadium.

In the other game, Ndejje and Kirinya Jinja also fired blanks in Luwero.

Teams Used:

URA Starting XI
James Alitho, Ronald Kigongo, Allan Munaaba, Benjamin Nyakoojo, Hudu Mulikyi, Siraje Ssentamu, Peter Lwasa, Shafic Kagimu, Robert Mukonghotya, Moses Sseruyidde, Joachim Ojera.

Salim Wekiya, Steven Munguchi, Abdullah Nyanzi, Allan Mugalu, Robert Omonuk, Abdul Malik Vitals Tabu, Mathew Odong Tayo.

Coach – Sam Ssimbwa

Tooro United Starting XI
Joel Mutakubya, Musa Mukasa, Isa Lumu, Mike Kawooya, Paddy Muhumuza, Willy Kavuma, Steven Luswata, Allan Kayiwa, Mahad Yaya Kakooza, Simon Sserunkuma, Isa Mubiru.

Michael Nantamu, Timothy Musinguzi, Joshua Kaliisa, Simon Okwil, Davis Sali, John Byamukama, Baker Buyala

Coach – Wasswa Bbosa

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker