latest newsNewsSliderSport>Soccer

UPL: Nyamityobora FC Stage Comeback Against Rivals Mbarara City For First Win


StarTimes Uganda Premier League
Nyamityobora FC 2-1 Mbarara City FC
Muteesa II stadium,Wankulukuku

Nyamityobora FC picked their first win in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League in fascinating style to defeat rivals Mbarara City FC on Wednesday.

The Mbarara derby played at Muteesa II stadium saw the Banyakare edge Ankole Lions 2-1 coming from a goal down.

Hillary Mukundane had given the visitors the lead at the stoke of halftime but late goals from substitutes Joseph Akandwanaho and Charles Musiige helped Nyamityobora FC to victory.

Nyamityobora FC came into the game on the back of three successive loses and were languishing in the drop zone.

James Odoch’s charges started the season with a 2- 0 loss to Onduparaka FC in Arua and this was followed with a 3-2 defeat to Bright Stars FC, a game they led 2-0 at halftime.

Their last outing ended in a 1-0 to defending champions Vipers SC at St.Mary’s Kitende despite a brilliant second half display.


Mbarara City were unlucky to lose midfielder Ivan Eyamu through injury early in the game and his place was taken by Steven Kabuye.

The first realistic chance of the game came in the 35th minute off Paul Mucureezi’s teasing free kick but his effort went just inches wide.

It was defender Mukundane who broke deadlock at the stoke of halftime to give Mbarara City FC the lead.

Odoch’s introduction of Musiige for Derrick Kiggundu proved a masterstroke with the former leveling matters in the 72nd minute.

With the game destined for the end, Akandwanaho who had replaced John Wesley Kisakye towards the end of the first half scored the eventual winner for Nyamityobora FC.

Despite getting the win, the Banyakare remained within in the drop zone in 14th place while Mbarara City FC who have six points are 6th on the league table.

Nyamityobora FC Starting XI

Hillary Jomi (GK), Jerry Jekisa, Benjamin Mpiirwe, Alex Komakech, Ibrahim Pengere, Derrick Kiggundu, Lameck Ebong, Martin Arinaitwe, Patrick Gonahasa, Juma Dada, John Kisakye.

Saddam Ogwang (GK), Muhammad Iga, Ivan Mboowa, Ibrahim Massa,
Charles Musiige, Joseph Akandanahwo

Mbarara City FC Starting XI

Ali Kimera (GK), Zaidi Byekwaso, Jasper Aheebwa, Rashid Muhammad, Hilary Mukundane, Pistis Barenge, Ivan Eyam, Paul Mucurezi, Karim Ndugwa, Umaru Mbusa, Ibrahim Orit.

Muhammad Ssekeba (GK), Steven Othieno, Asuman Alishe, Swalik Ssegujja, Steven Kabuye, Wol Makweth, Methodius Bassey


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker