UPL Awards: Who Will Be Crowned MVP?

The 2016/17 Uganda Premier League season had several thrilling moments and players gave their best to help their clubs.

And for the second year running, the league Secretariat will reward and crowd the excelling individuals in an awards gala slated for Wednesday (today) at Imperial Royale hotel, Kampala.

The Most Valuable Player (MVP) will drive away in a brand new Subaru Forester plus several other prizes.

Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC), Shaban Mohammad (Onduparaka FC) and Emmanuel Okwi (SC Villa) will contend for the top prize.

Sserunkuma played an integral role as KCCA FC went ahead to be crowned champions. The veteran forward scored 21 goals to finish top scorer.

Playing in the top tier league for the first time, Shaban did not need time to show his abilities. He carried on with the form he had in the Fufa Big League and scored 13 goals.

Emma Okwi who joined SC Villa in the second round helped the Jogoos finish second on the table scoring 12 goals in only 13 games.

The other categories include;


Champions – KCCA FC

Mvp of the Season

Geoffrey Serunkuuma(KCCA FC)

Emmanuel Okwi(SC Villa)

Muhammad Shaban (Onduparaka)

Goalkeeper of the Season

Isma Watenga (Vipers)

Benjamin Ochan (KCCA FC)

Thomas Ikara (Kirinya Jinja SS)

Defender of the Season

Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers)

Habib Kavuma (KCCA FC)

Timothy Awany (KCCA FC)

Midfielder of the Season

Saddam Juma (Express FC)

Mutyaba Muzamir (KCCA FC)

Shafik Kagimu (URA FC)

Top Scorer

Geoffrey Serunkuuma (KCCA FC, 18 goals)

Young Player of the year

Allan Okello (KCCA FC)

Frank Tumwesigye (Vipers)

Thomas Ikara (Kirinya Jinja SS)

Fan’s player of the Year

Voted by fans

Fair play club of the Season

As per statistics

Fair Play Individual of the Season

To be selected by committee


To be selected by committee

Coach of the Year

Mike Mutebi (KCCA FC)

Abbey Bogere Kikomeko (Kirinya Jinja SS)

Wasswa Bossa (SC Villa)

Best Goalkeeping Coach

Kiggundu Stephen Billy (Vipers)

Daniel Kiwanuka(KCCA FC)

Sam Kawalya(Express FC)

Referee of the Year

To be selected by referee’s committee

Club CEO of the Season

Tamale David (KCCA FC)

Lwanga Peter (Vipers)

William Bakkabulindi (Proline)

Media Personality






To be selected by awards committee

Fan(S) of the Year

To be selected by committee

Life Time Achiever Award

To be selected by committee

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker