Understanding How The AFCON 2019 Group Draws Will Be Conducted

The African football governing body, CAF, will conduct the draws of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations on Friday night in Cairo, Egypt.

The body released the seedlings on Thursday with all the 24 teams placed in four pots of six teams each.

This is the first time CAF is conducting a draw of 24 nations after expanding from the previous 16.

We bring you the analysis of procedure that will be followed to draw the teams into six groups;

According to the Article 73.1 of the regulations of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations competition, “The organizing country (Egypt) shall be the head of group A.

The defending champions, Cameroon, enters into pot 1 irrespective of their current Fifa rankings that has been used to seed the other 22 teams.

The draws will be conducted in four stages as follows;

The lowest ranked teams, placed in pot 4 will be drawn first. The first team to be drawn from the bowl will go to group A; the second will go to B; the third to C; the fourth to D; the fifth to E; and the sixth to F.


The same procedure will be repeated for teams in Pots 3 and 2 in that respective order.

The first team to be drawn in A will go to group B because A already has the hosts, Egypt.  The procedure will continue for the 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th balls in Pot 1 and will take the lead in group C, D, E and F.

The Pots

Pot 1; Egypt Cameroon Senegal Tunisia Nigeria Morocco

Pot 2; Dr Congo Ghana Mali Cote D’ivoire Guinea Algeria

Pot 3; South Africa Uganda Benin Mauritania Madagascar Kenya

Pot 4; Zimbabwe Namibia Guinee Bissau Angola Tanzania Burundi

Photo: The official Egypt AFCON 2019 promo poster


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker