E.A Live News

Ugandans Stuck in East African Countries Free to Return – Gov’t

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has said Ugandans stuck in the East African Community (EAC) countries over coronavirus can return home.

While the government has been repatriating Ugandans struck abroad over coronavirus, those stuck in Rwanda, Kenya, Tanzania and Burundi have not been repatriated.

But State minister of Foreign Affairs Okello Oryem says the group is now free to return as government will open borders ready to receive them.

“Ugandans, who want to return by road from the EAC should possess a Covid-9 test certificate not longer than a week and must get permission from our embassies. When they reach the border points, they are supposed to be subjected to another Covid test before being driven to quarantine centres of their choice,” Mr Oryem said in an interview.

“Those who want to return should hire individual vehicles from the countries they are coming from because they cannot return in groups. The repatriation of other Ugandans by plane in all countries, EAC inclusive, are still underway,” he added.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs agreed to repatriate a total of 2,392 following numerous discussions by Parliament and Cabinet of returnees, who said Ugandans were suffering after losing their jobs.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker