latest newsNewsSliderSport>Cricket

Uganda to Host ICC Men’s World T20 Qualifiers


Uganda has won the rights to host the International Cricket Council(ICC) Men’s World Twenty20 qualifiers slated for next year.

In a memo released on Thursday by Patricia Kamabarami, the ICC Development Manager, Africa region, Uganda has been selected to host the ICC Men’s World Twenty20 Qualifier.

Two years back, Uganda hosted the ICC World Cricket League Division III with the tournament ending successfully and it could be on such grounds that the global association has given Uganda another chance to host a major tournament.

Six teams will compete at the 2019 ICC World Twenty20 Africa Regional Finals from 17th to 26th of May 2019 with Kenya, Uganda, Nigeria and Ghana already confirmed while two other sides will join the four teams from the South African region.

The tournament slated for May next year will also double as a qualifier for the 2020 ICC Twenty20 World Cup in Australia with the top two teams making the cut.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker