Uganda Lady Cricket Team Start Title Defence in Zimbabwe

The Uganda national women’s Cricket team, the Lady Cricket Cranes, will start their journey in the 2020 Women’s Cricket World Cup on

Sunday when they take on Sierra Leone at the Old Harare Sports Club, Zimbabwe.

The team heads into the nine-team African qualifier tournament as the defending champions.

Uganda is pooled in group B alongside their East African foes Kenya, Namibia and Sierra Leone.

Group A has hosts Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Nigeria and neighbours Rwanda and Tanzania. The winners of each group will face each other in the final on 12 May 2019.

The fixtures are taking place at Harare Sports Club, Old Hararians and Takashinga Cricket Club in Harare.

Cranes team captain, Kevin Awino, believes that the team is ready for the challenge with a blend of experienced and talented new faces.

“We are here as defending champions and we mean business, we have a well-balanced side with 10 players who were in Namibia two years ago plus new upcoming blood,” Awino said during a pre-match press conference.


Uganda performed dismally at the Victoria series played in the same nation and losing to the hosts but the captain believes they have done a lot of patching to stand up to the task.

“We learnt our lessons during the Victoria series and despite losing to Zimbabwe we have polished our mistakes and are good to go now.”

The matches in the tournament are being played as Women’s Twenty20 Internationals (WT20Is), with the top team progressing to both the 2019 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier and the 2020 Women’s Cricket World Qualifier tournaments.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker