Uganda Cranes Slash Egyptian Pharaohs

Thursday, August 31

Uganda 1-0 Egypt

Uganda Cranes managed to record a 1-0 victory against the Egyptian Pharaohs in an ill-fated encounter played at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole.

Emmanuel Okwi’s solo effort in the 49th minute was enough to give the Cranes all the 3 points to move top of Group E of the 2018 Russia World Cup qualifier with 7 points.

Speaking after the game, Uganda Cranes coach Moses Basena said: “We encountered many difficult situations but we closed a technically gifted side.”

“Many of them doubted us, but winning Egypt and topping the group is a good feeling,” he added.

Egypt coach, Hector Cuper said: “It was a very difficult and complicated match but the field was not good, we threw away many scoring chances but we still have 9 points to play for”

Uganda Cranes will now face this same side in Alexandria 5 days later on September 5.

How the game unfolded

Egypt started the game at a high tempo and within the first 5 minutes, Godfrey Walusimbi was booked for a clumsy challenge.

The Cranes later settled into the game, forcing Elhadary into various saves; Okwi, Khalid Aucho and Derrick Nsibambi all denied by the 44 year old shot stopper at various intervals.

Egypt’s only clear chance in the first 45 minutes fell to Solimon Mohmoud who converted in Hossan Mohomoud’s well delivered cross but his goal was disallowed for offside.

In the second half, the cranes started strongly with Farouk Miya forcing El hadary into another low save.

Emmanuel Okwi later broke the deadlock in the 49th minute, with a beautifil and powerful shot after leaving Ahmed Hegazi crawling on the ground.

Egypt’s Saleh Saleh who was introduced in for Hamed Tarek proved a big threat to the Cranes with his through balls, but they could not release Mohamed Salah to beat Dennis Onyango.

With 7 minutes added on to the normal time, Cranes who played fiercely and fearlessly held on to record a narroa 1-0 deserved victory.

Teams Used


Denis Onyango (GK), Nico Wakiro Wadada, Godfrey Walusimbi Isaac Isinde, Murushid Juuko, Wasswa Hassan Mawanda, Khalid Aucho, Emmanuel Okwi (Luwagga Kizito), Farouk Miya (Geoffrey Sserunkuma), Derrick Nsibambi, Joseph Benson Ochaya (Isaac Muleme)


Ismail Watenga, Benjamn Ochan (GK), Bernard Muwanga, Ivan Ntege, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Milton Karisa, Shafic Kuchi Kagimu, Tom Masiko, Denis Iguma


Essam El-Hadary, Ibrahim Ahmed, Hegazi Ahmed, Rabia Ramy, Abouzeid Mohamed, Hamed Tarek (Saleh Saleh), Elneny Mohamed, Bekhit Abdallah, Mohamed Salah, Hassan Mohmoud (Ahmed Ramadan 46’), Soliman Mohmoud (Ahmed Amr)


Ahmed Sherif, Ahmed El-Shennawy, Eissa Ahmed, Saanad Hossam, Mahgoub Ahmed, Gaber Omar, Ali Saadeldin, Sifeldin Karim, Morsy Samy.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker