UFL: Makerere Return from Suspension Ahead of 8th Edition


The 8th edition of the annual University Football League has been officially launched on Wednesday morning at Kati Kati Restaurant in Kampala.

Makerere University return to the championship after serving a one year ban. The 2012 winners missed last season when the league committee found them guilty of violence when they visited Busitema University.

University Football League chairman Vincent Kisenyi warned teams ahead of the new season and cautioned them about indiscipline.

” This is a warning to all universities that we shall not tolerate indiscipline.” He said.

The other new development will see an expansion of league from 16 to 19 teams with three new entrants. These include Muni University from Lira, Kabale University and International University of East Africa.

The preliminary draw will involve teams that finished bottom last year that’s Gulu University, Nkumba University and KIU facing off will the new entrants to determine who makes it to the group stage.

Preliminary Round


•Makerere University VS KIU
•Gulu University Vs Muni University
•Kabale University Vs Nkumba University

IUEA got a bye to the group stage . The University Football League was inaugurated in 2012. Kyambogo University are the reigning champions.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker