latest newsNewsSliderSport>Soccer

UCU Lady Cardinals Egde Kawempe to Win Independence Cup


Independence Cup
Clubs Category
UCU Lady Cardinals 0(5)-0(4) Kawempe Muslim
Secondary Schools Category
Kawempe Muslim 1-0 Pride SS Mityana
Primary Schools Category
Jolly Primary School 3-0 Bembe P/S

Uganda Christian University(UCU) Lady Cardinals emerged winners of the 2018 Independence Cup after defeating Kawempe Muslim in the final played on Tuesday as Uganda marked her 56th Independence Day.

The game played at Kazo playground ended goalless in normal time but the University side edged Kawempe Muslim on penalties to win the tournament.

In the tense penalty shoot out, it was Kawempe’s skipper Mariam Nakabugo who failed to convert her kick from the spot hence UCU winning 5-4.

The tournament that started on Sunday saw six FUFA Women Elite teams take part in a round robin format where the top two qualified for the finals.

Kawempe led the group on 13 points while UCU Lady Cardinals finished second just a point behind the former.

Among the clubs that took part in the tournament include; Asubo Gafford Ladies, Ajax Queens Bulenga, Rines Women Football Club, Uganda Martyrs High School, Rubaga, Kawempe Muslim and UCU Lady Cardinals.


Champions UCU Lady Cardinals walked home with a cash prize of Ushs 700,000/= on top of the trophy while runners up Kawempe Muslim bagged Ushs 400,000.

Kawempe Muslim SS won the secondary Schools Category defeating Pride College from Mpigi 1-0 courtesy of Rebecca Nakato. In the primary schools category, Jolly Primary School from Kawempe eased past Bembe Primary School with Jarida Nannyonjo, Jovena Nagadya and Hanisha Tamale scoring a goal each.

The tournament was organized by Uganda Women Football Association, a member of the Federation of Uganda Football Associations(FUFA).

Kawempe Muslim Starting XI: Juliet Adeke,Florence Nalumansi, Rehema Nakabuye,Rehema Adubango,Mariam Nakabugo, Tracy Jones Akiror,Anita Namata, Asia Nakibuuka, Juliet Nalukenge, Samalie, Sharon Naddunga

UCU Lady Cardinals Starting XI: Ruth Aturo,Cissy Nakate,Mercy Nabulobi, Jauharah Nabbagala, Annet Nakirijja, Moureen Kinavudori, Joan Kwagala, Sharon Apon, Catherine Nakiridde,Hasifah Nassuna, Jackie Nakasi

Penalty Shoot Out
Kawempe Muslim
Mariam Nakabugo-Missed
Tracy Jones Akiror – Scored
Anita Namata- Scored
Rehema Nakabuye-Scored
Juliet Nalukenge-Scored

UCU Lady Cardinals
Hasifah Nassuna-Scored
Moureen Kinavudori – Scored
Jauharah Nabaggala-Scored
Catherine Nakiridde-Scored
Joan Kwagala

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker