U-17 AFCON Qualifiers: Uganda’s Group Opponents South Sudan Disqualified

South Sudan has been disqualified from the 2020 Africa Cup of Nations/CECAFA Zonal qualification tournament which starts today in Rwanda.

The development came after four of South Sudan’s players failed to pass Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) tests conducted by the tournament organizers and CAF medical team on Friday.

The MRI tests are conducted to ensure that players are eligible for any junior championship by scanning their bones in their wrists before taking part in the international event.

By the time of their disqualification, South Sudan was due to play defending champions Uganda Cubs in the opening game on Saturday afternoon at the Umuganda Stadium in Rubavu.

Group A now remains with three teams such as Uganda, Kenya and Ethiopia while Group B has Tanzania, Djibouti, and tournament hosts Rwanda.

Uganda Cubs successfully completed and passed the MRI tests on Friday with all the 20 players deemed fit to take part in the championship.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker