Turkey, Kenya, Sudan Ruling Party Leaders Attend NRM Delegates Conference

The ruling party leaders of Kenya, Turkey, Cuba, Tanzania, South Sudan, Sudan and Korea are in Uganda to attend the National Resistance Movement Party National Delegates Conference.

The foreign delegates at Namboole National Stadium include Turkish Justice and Development party (AKP) Vice President, Cigden Karaaslan; Secretary General of Kenya’s Jubilee, Raphael Tuju; South Sudan Presidential Envoy, Jemme Nuhu Kumba and Deputy Secretary General of Tanzania’s ruling Chama Chama Mapenduzi party, Dr. Sadala Abdalla Juma.

Other representatives included H.E Mr. Antonio Luis Pubillones Izaguirre, Ambasaddor of the Republic of Cuba to Uganda representing the Communist Party; Amb. Bukhari Gganim Mohamed Afadi from Sudan, which currently has no ruling party since the recent disbandment of deposed Omar Bashir’s National Conference Party.

Meanwhile H.E Amb. Ri Hung Guk represented the Democratic Peoples Republic of Korea at the event expected to amend the NRM’s constitution to change the voting process from secret ballot to queuing behind candidates.

The National Executive Committee of the ruling National Resistance Movement party on Friday resolved to amend their constitution ahead of primary elections later this year.

Museveni told his party members the amendment, meant to cure rigging, is likely to pose adverse effects including breaking families.

“Members there are situations of discordant couples. You will find that wife and husband are for different candidates and that risks troubles in their family,” said Museveni.

The comment was supported by a section of NEC members but the majority took the day in favor of the amendment.


The proponents argued that even with secret ballot, voters attend rallies of their candidates of choice and it has never been a problem.

The NEC resolution is expected to be finally decided on by the National Delegates Conference this afternoon.

NRM primary election of 2015 (secret ballot) the most chaotic and resulted to the significant production of 66 independent members of Parliament. Even some ministers like Sarah Opendi Achieng and Idah Nantaba stood on independent tickets in the 2016 general elections citing gross flaws in the internal election process.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker