Sula Matovu Wins 2016 National Pool Championship

National pool championship finals
Sula Matovu 7-5 Fred Namanya

The record still stands. No one has ever defended the national pool championship title and it was the same case this year as Sula Matovu got his name onto the winners list.

The championship that cued off on Saturday morning at the MTN Arena in Lugogo saw the defending champion Amos Ndyagumanawe face an early exit after losing 3-1 to Fred “Bonde” Namanya in the opening game.

The day however belonged to Sula Matovu who beat competition from 127 other players to be crowned the 2016 national pool champion.

Matovu who plays for CKI club came into the championship as seed two, ampoule defeated 2009 winner Fred Namanya 7-5 to clinch the title.

In a thrilling final Namanya looked the part, claiming the first frame with ease before Matovu regrouped to win the second game. The trend kept on until the sixth frame with game tied at 3-3.

Matovu took the lead for the first time in the 7th game and went ahead to claim two more frames to extend his lead to 6-3. With the game almost destined for Matovu’s way, Namanya remained resilient and claimed the next two games to draw the game at 6-5 and excite a fully packed MTN Arena.

Matovu however took the 12th frame to win 7-5 and be crowned the winner. He had defeated the 2014 champion, Fahad Ssewankambo 5-3 in the semifinals.


Matovu drove away with a brand new Grande Mark 11, UGX 2M and two pool tables.

In the third place playoff, Nsubuga Humphrey defeated Fahad Ssewankambo 5-3.

Past winners

2001-Bob Meneni

2003-Jeff Miiro

2008- Jonah Turigye

2009- Fred Namanya

2011-Halifan Ntwali

2012-Alfred Gumikiriza

2013- Jonah Turigye

2014- Fahad Ssewankambo

2015- Amos Ndyagumanawe

2016- Sula Matovu

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker