Stanbic’s Mweheire Lands Top Post at Chamber of Mines and Petroleum

Stanbic Bank Chief Executive Officer Patrick Mweheire has been elected as the new deputy Chairman at the Uganda Chamber of Mines and Petroleum (UCMP) in the latest selection of board members.

Mweheire replaces Hon. Richard Kaijuka.

Kaijuka will now, according to a later dated July 11 by the organization secretariat, be head Board of Trustees where will he be deputized by Tullow PLC country manager, Jimmy Mugerwa.

UCMP is a not-for profit, non-governmental organization that represents the interests of private players in the mining and petroleum sector of Uganda.

Dr. Elly Karuhanga has retained his position as the chairman of the chamber on a 2-year contract which was renewed “following a June 30, 2017 an annual general meeting.”

Sam Thakkar of UHY Sam and Associates has been elected general secretary taking over from Paul Sherwen.

On the advisory committee, the voted members include: Oliver Lalani, Tony Otoa, Patricia Ojangole, Allan Mugisha, Pamella Natamba, Miriam Magala, Gerald Mukyenga and Caro Athiyo among others.

The role of the advisory committee, the statement from the Secretariat reads, is to help the new board members to oversee the general management and operation of the chamber.


Adewale Feyame, Total Country manager is part of the nine-man council, which also has figures like Daniel Petterson from Hima Cement.

The UCMP Chairman Karuhanga, promised to create a “Dream Team” that will ensure the organisation aspirations are met through skilling as many Ugandans as possible in all relevant and practical areas while ensuring all timelines are adhered to beat the 2020 target.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker