Stanbic Uganda Cup: Vipers Knocked Out Of the Tournament

The StarTimes Uganda Premier League table leaders Vipers SC were knocked out of the Stanbic Uganda Cup by minnows Kajjansi United at the round of 64.

In the game played at Betway Muteesa II Stadium Wankulukuku, Kajjansi United won the game 8-7 on penalties following a one-all stalemate in normal time.

Kajjansi United progressed to the Round of 32 after eliminating the 2016 Stanbic Uganda Cup champions Vipers in a match codenamed ‘Entebbe Road Derby’.

The underdogs, Kajjansi United, set the pace of the match with a first half goal courtesy of Michael Male in the 32nd minute.

In typical fighting spirit, Vipers gaffer Edward Golola responded by making tactical changes to the side in the 38th minute by replacing Ibrahim Tembo with new signing Paul Mucureezi in search for quick answers.

However, the first interval ended 1-0 in favour of the hosts and it was no surprise when coach Golola introduced Umar Kyebatala in the place of Dennis Mwemezi in the 46th minute.

With pressure mounting on the Venoms bench, Golola wasted no time by bringing on forward Abraham Ndugwa, his third and final substitution, for Dan ‘Mzee’ Sserunkuma in the 54th minute.

Still there was no goal for Vipers until the 72nd minute when Uganda Cranes international Fahad Bayo used his expertise to shoot past Kajjansi United goalkeeper Michael Kagiri, who had been invincible on the day.


With neither of the sides finding the second and winning goal of the match, it was left to the post-match shootout to decide Vipers fate with Bayo, Captain Geoffrey Wasswa, Farouk Musisi, Rahmat Ssenfuka, Tumwesigye, Ndugwa and Jacob Okao shaking the opposition’s net.

But Kajjansi United’s Marvin Nyanzi, Mike Lutaaya, Rashid Ssemwogerere, Edgar Luzige, Joseph Shisha, Ashraf Mbaziira, Isaac Balyejusa and Ronald Kizito made it even, and better.

Shot-stopper Kagiri, then, grabbed the headlines by saving Kyebatala’s effort from the spot to send Kajjansi United fans into frenzy.

The day was full of upsets that saw other StarTimes Uganda Premier League sides Busoga United and Onduparaka exit the tournament.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker