Featured Newslatest newsNewsPreviewSliderSport

Sports Journalists Choice Awards: Fallen Eddy Galiwango Commemorated

Sports Journalists Choice Awards have recognised fallen Eddy Galiwango with ‘Photograph of The Year Award’.

The category honours the outstanding achievements in Sports photography.

According to Journalist Leone Ssenyange, the brain behind the awards, he stressed that the category will be judged on the basis of a single outstanding picture.

The selected choice will, in the opinion of the judges, be the photo that revealed a unique sporting moment.

Entries in this category may be a single or not more than three pictures that were published either online or in a newspaper/ magazine.

Silvano Kibuuka (2016) and John Batanudde (2017) are the previous winners of this category before changed name.

Gone but not forgotten: Eddy (RIP)

Galiwango, known by many in the sports fraternity, passed away last month and was laid to rest in Luwero district.

He was not only a Freelance Sports Photographer, but also a jolly, friendly person who loved and valued his profession.


Through his work, he had bridged the gap between the sportsmen and the Journalists.

The Awards In General

This will be the third edition of these annual award ceremony – the first and second editions were held in 2016 and last year respectively.

The awards are intended to encourage sports journalists uplift their reporting standards and provide information
that will be beneficial to sports news consumers.

Print, broadcast and online pieces produced between 1st December 2017 and 30th November 2018 are eligible for submission.

Entries are being made online with the qualifying period for all entries scheduled from Thursday 1st November until Friday 30th November 2018.

Entrants can submit their work via this online portal; https://goo.gl/forms/NBEK9OaIUnuAn8am2

Beside the Eddie Galiwango Award, there are other nine categories available.

Notably, Female Sports Reporter of the Year 2018 category has been included on the menu.

This award will recognize a female sports reporter whose works are judged to have broken an important sports issue. It is a category open to only female journalists whose work is broadcast, published online or in newspapers/ magazines.

Best Social Media Journalist and Sports Journalist of the year are the other categories on the list.

ChimpReports’ Brian Kawalya was voted as the Breakthrough Sports Journalist of 2017.

The ceremony will be held on Tuesday 11 December at a venue yet to be communicated.

The seven categories in which entries will be made:
1) Young Sports Journalist of the Year 2018
2) Regional Sports Journalist of the Year 2018
3) Edward Galiwango Sports Photograph of the Year Award 2018
4) Sports News Report – Broadcast 2018 (Radio or Television)
5) Sports Feature of the Year 2018 (TV, Radio, Print or Online)
6) Sports Website of the Year 2018
7) Female Sports Reporter of the Year 2018

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker