Soana FC Defeat Express FC in Shoot-Outs to Claim Commonwealth Cup

The commonwealth Youth Cup match which was organized on Friday saw Soana FC emerge victorious against Express FC at Mandela National stadium in Namboole.

With 20 minutes played for either half, referee Moses Oloya called for penalty shoot-outs following a dubious goalless match with barely any chance created.

In the spot kicks, Deo Othieno was one of the two players who missed Express FC’s penalties when he fluffed his effort inches away from the posts as Soana claimed a 4-2 shoot-out victory.

New Soana FC coach formerly at SC Villa, Shafiq Bisaso expressed his delight after the win.

“What the boys have done is what I was expecting from them; to go out there and win. Like in pre-season games, you don’t play many minutes but I think Express FC gave us a test we wanted.”

“At Soana, I believe the pressure is still the same like it was with my former club SC villa,” Concluded Bisaso.

Express FC coach Matia Lule refused to comment on his boys’ performance claiming that it was just a mere friendly for them to just enjoy.

Commonwealth Secretary general Patricia Scotland greeting the Soana fc players
Commonwealth Secretary general Patricia Scotland greeting the Soana fc players

Teams Used


Express FC

Nadhir Muhamed, Ssenkoomi Sam, Makumbi Remmy, Othieno Deo, Luswata Steven, Katende Isaac, Didier Jean, Francis Onekalit, Muhindo Kambale, Kasule Abdul and Joseph Ssemujju.


Buule Godwin, Ssekayombya Andy, Sulaiman Jjingo, Promise Mubende, Nsubuga Rashid, Kasule Steven and Nsubuga Mubarak.

Coaching staff:  Matia Lule, Joseph Kiwanuka, Ngabo Pius and Sam Kawalya.

Soana FC

Meddie Kibirige, Eddie Ruhweeza, Issa Mubiru, Timothy Musinguzi, Mudde Swaibu, Misi Katende, Allan Kayiwa, Willy Kavuma, Ategeka Steven, Owen Kasule and Baker Lukooya.


Siraje Turyamuhebwa, Osman Wejjuli, Davis Ssali, Mohamad Kayongo, Mohamad Mbazira, Ndugga Lawrence, Hassan Finidi, Moses Kirumira and Amanya Gerrard.

Coaching Staff: Bisaso Shafic, Mutono Katono, Makubuya Aloysius, Tusiime Moses.


Sam Oloya, Nkumbi Malex, Ashiraf Miiro and Mutonyi Jane.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker