Six Nominated for PWDs By-Elections

Six contestants have been nominated by the Electoral Commission to stand in the By-elections for Members of Parliament representing People with Disabilities (PWDs) in the western and norther regions.

The nominees are Bernald Mayanja (NRM) Geoffrey Kabateraine (FDC), Hudson Katuramu (Independent), and Martin Mwesigwa for Western Uganda, while Wilson Nokrach and Joyce Achan are battling for the northern region seat.

The two positions fell vacant in May after court nullified Hudson Katuramu and Wilson Nokrach’s election due to lack of requisite academic qualifications and voter bribery.

The two are back to reclaim their positions after being successfully nominated for the upcoming By-elections.

According to the returning officer in charge of PWDs Apollo Musinguzi, the candidates will start campaigning from 7th to 23rd July 2017.

Musinguzi told press at the EC headquarters on Tuesday Musinguzi that the elections will be held on the Tuesday 25th July in Jinja at the Institute of Civil servants.

“Elections shall be by secret ballot using the National Electoral College comprising five delegates drawn from each district,” he said.

In every district five PWDs leaders will be chosen to vote for the nominated candidates

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker