Silverbacks Return Home, Set Eyes On Second Qualification Round

The Uganda senior men’s national basketball (Silverbacks) team arrived back in the country on Thursday 1st December, 2020 from Egypt where they participated in first the qualifying window for the 2021 AFROBASKET tournament due in Kigali, Rwanda.

Upon their successful return, they were welcomed by the National Council of Sports General Secretary Bernard Patrick Ogwel, NCS Chairman Donald Rukare and treated with a luncheon at Copper Chimney Restaurant in Lugogo.

The Federation of Uganda Basketball Associations president Nasser Sserunjogi applauded the government through NCS for their support towards the team’s successful campaign in Egypt plus the entire squad that raised Uganda’s flag high.

“The Federation of Uganda Basketball Associations would like to thank the government of Uganda through the National Council of Sports for their continued support towards basketball in Uganda. The Federations also thanks the players, technical team and management that worked tirelessly towards the success of the Silverbacks in the recently concluded tournament,” Sserunjogi noted.

The team is placed in group E alongside Egypt, Morocco and Cape Verde and managed to win two of the three games that were played in Alexandria at the Al Ittihad Stadium.

Uganda lost its opening match to hosts Egypt (77-96) and later registered two successive victories against Morocco and Cape Verde (94-90) and (101-98).

The Silverbacks currently sit second on the table with 5 points gathered from the 3 games played, a point behind the table leaders Egypt which gives them a great chance to qualify for the final tournament.

The team will have a two weeks break and the locally based players will resume training on December 15, 2020 (Nonresidential) in preparation for the second qualifying window due to take place from 19th to 21st February 2021 (Venue yet to be confirmed by FIBA).


The team plans to have a 2 weeks camp (residential) before the games tip off.


Tonny Drileba, Jimmy Enabu, Robinson Opong Odoch, Benjamin Komakech, Deng Geu, Emmanuel Mugenga, Joseph Ikong, Titus Odeke, Eric Rwahire, Ishmail Wainright, Stanley Mugerwa, James Okello

Coaches: George Galanopoulos, Mandy Juruni

Technical: Mike Schmitz, Andrew Tendo

Medical: Ram Mpuuga Nyakaana, Ivan Williams Nyenje

Management: Nasser Sserunjogi, Santur Ghedi Mohamed, Grace Kwizera, Albert Ahabwe

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker