Sajjalyabene, Three others Denied NUP Tickets after Re-Evaluation

The incumbent Member of Parliament of Makindye Sabagabo Municipality, in Wakiso district, Ssempala Kigozi alias Sajjalyabene, is among the four candidates who were denied the National Unity Platform Flags for the second time, after re-evaluation.

In the new list that was released by the NUP Executive Committee which sat on October 5, four candidates who had been given the tickets were reinstated.

These are David Sserukenya, Kigozi’s contender for Makindye Sabagabo, Hanifah Nabukera for Woman MP Mukono District, Francis Muganga for MP Iganga

Kigozi, who was first denied the ticket during the first round appealed after accusing the Commission for being corrupt and biased.

He alleged that officials at the Elections Management Committee asked him to pay Shs170m which he paid but still did not give him the ticket,

“I have appealed but if they don’t give me the ticket, I am going to spill all the secrets as I announce my next step,” he said recently

In Mukono, Lydia Namayengo who was turned down in favour of Nabukera said that NUP in Mukono has been taken up by dictators.

“The tricks of sidelining and suffocating new entrants are cropping up in NUP. In Mukono for example, as it was in DP but now in NUP, some leaders have now declared themselves the District NUP Chairperson, Coordinator of Greater Mukono Sub Region, Coordinator of Eastern Buganda, on the Vetting Committee, the alpha and Omega to the extent of sacrificing the people power diehards as candidates for flag bearers in the process that was characterized with corruption and bribery,” she noted adding,


“This individualizing of institutions must be left to NRM and other undemocratic parties. The perennial politicians who closed us out, suppressed us, ring fenced their Constituencies at the extent of the liberation of our country have again showed up in Mukono.”

All the four candidates who were released on this new list are the same on the old list implying that whoever petitioned did not go through as far as these particular Constituencies is concerned.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker