Rwanda Reinstates Canceled EAC Leaders’ Meeting

Rwandan President Paul Kagame is set to extend invites to fellow regional Heads of State for 21st East African Community (EAC) Heads of State Summit.

The Summit had been postponed twice since last year in the absence South Sudan, which asked to be allowed time to settle its domestic affairs.

The Summit was initially scheduled for November 30, 2019, but was pushed to February 29 due to lack of quorum.

It was once again suspended and later rescheduled for February 29th before being called off again at the Request of South Sudan.

The new member state in the north asked for more time to complete the formation of new Transitional Government of National Unity (ToGONU), which at the time was being contested between the opposition and the ruling government.

With the unity government now in place, Rwanda’s Junior Minister for East EAC Affairs Olivier Nduhungirehe announced yesterday that the Regional Heads of State Summit will be held the next fortnight.

“After consultation with Partner States, I have the honor to inform you that the 21st Ordinary Summit has been rescheduled on Monday, 16th March 2020 at 11:30am in Arusha, Tanzania,” the Minister wrote to the EAC Secretary General Liberat Mfumukeko.

The Summit, he said will be preceded by the 41st Extraordinary Council of Ministers which will sit on Thursday, 12th March 2020 (Senior Officials’ session); Friday, 13th March 2020 (Coordination Committee) and Saturday, 14th March 2020, (Council of Ministers).


“With that in mind, the Hon. Minister, Paul Mayom Akech, has directed me to notify the EAC Secretariat of this challenge and that South Sudan will not be able to take part. Given the significance of the meeting, the Republic of South Sudan is requesting for a postponement until mid-March 2020.

“In this regard, I would like to request you to invite Partner States to the 41st Extraordinary meeting of the Council. The Chairperson of the Summit will invite members of the Summit to the 21st Ordinary Summit,” he said.

The regional leaders according to reports, will among others be discussing a review of the four pillars of the EAC bloc, namely the Customs Union, Common Market, Monetary Union and Political Confederation as a transition to Political Federation.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker