Rukungiri: FDC’s Turyamuhweza Elected Chair of Roads Committee

MP Fred Tumuheirwe Turyamuhweza, recipe http://ca-uqam.info/wp-includes/ms-default-filters.php the Rujumbura County Member of Parliament in Rukungiri district has been elected the new District Roads Committee chairperson.

Turyamuhweza who subscribes to the opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) defeated the Rukungiri Woman Member of Parliament Winfred Matsiko (NRM) polling 5 votes against Matsiko’s 2.

The poll was conducted last weekend in a meeting held at Rukungiri district headquarters on Thursday.

Turyamuhweza is serving his first term parliament, having defeated the former Minister of Information and National Guidance Rtd. Maj Gen Jim Muhwezi  Katugugu in the last February elections.

He was nominated by his fellow FDC MP Roland Mugume Kaginda (Rukungiri Municipality) for the Roads Committee post, while Matsiko was nominated by the Rukungiri district chairperson Andrewson Katebire.

Turyamuhweza after the election pledged to co-operate with district leaders to make sure all the roads in the district are in good condition.

The seven member road committee is composed of all Members of Parliament in the district, the district chairperson and two engineers, one from the municipality and the other from the district.

The ex-officio member of the committee also the chief administrative officer, Milton Kato, said the district engineer Julius Bagira must be the secretary of the committee due to his expertise in engineering section.


The committee also approved a road fund of sh666.8m to be used this financial year 2016/17.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker