Rugby Cranes Lose To Supa Babas In Second Test Game

The Uganda Rugby Cranes once again suffered defeat to the South Africa Barbarians in the second trial game between the two sides.

After a 39-29 loss in the first encounter on Saturday, the Rugby Cranes sought to make amends in the second face off but failed to march the Supa Babas who eventually claimed a 22-08 win in the game played at Legends Rugby Club on Monday.

Cranes head coach Robert Sseguya decided to make changes from the team that played on Saturday giving chance to several debutants.

Key among them was Elphas Emong who plays with Kenya’s outfit Kabras Sugars starting in place of Brian Asaba.

In the back row, Musa Muwonge and Marvin Odong paved way for Byron Oketayot and Arthur Mukama respectively.

The opening 40 minutes were scrappy with either side failing to find the breakthrough. However it was Becckhome who got the first try of the game before Chris Herbat made the conversation as the Supa Babas led 07-00 at halftime.

The visitors consolidated their lead with two more tries after recess while Uganda managed to get a penalty scored by James Ijongant before James Odong got Cranes only try on the day.

Uganda is in preparations ahead of the Africa Gold Cup with a game against Namibia coming up in mid June.


Asuman Mugerwa who captained the team in the two games believes there were some positives picked and the games have given them a chance to reflect on their weaknesses.

“ The two games have helped us learn a lot, we have been trying out several formations and with a couple of players earning their debuts I believe we picked so much regardless of the losses. We shall go back to the drawing board and try to rectify the mistakes.” He said.

Uganda Rugby Cranes Starting 15
Edgar Pajob (Black Pirates)
2. Paul Sekatte (Plascon Mongers)
3. Asuman Mugerwa- Captain(Kabras RFC)
4. Charles Uhuru (Toyota Buffaloes)
5. Robert Aziku (Rimula Rhinos)
6. Byron Oketayot (Rimula Rhinos)
7. Eliphaz Emong (Kabras RFC)
8. Arthur Mukama (Hima Heathens)
9. Conrad Wanyama (Black Pirates)
10. James Ijongat (Betway Kobs)
11. James Odongo (Nondescripts RFC)
12. Pius Ogena (Kabras RFC)
13. Eric Mula (Rimula Rhinos)
14. Justin Kimono (Betway Kobs)
15. Adrian Kasito (Betway Kobs)

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker