Rubanda: Ex Minister Banyenzaki, 4 Others In Early Campaigns to Oust MP Sabiiti

A political battle is brewing in Rubanda County West, Rubanda district where five people have lined up and kick started early campaigns to oust the incumbent area legislator, Eng. Denis Sabiiti.

The aspirants that want to dislodge Sabiiti in 2021 include former legislator and State Minister of Economic Monitoring Henry Banyenzaki, who wants to reclaim the seat that he lost in 2016 polls.

The others are Dan Bukenya, Robert Mathias Muhereza, Nelson Habasa and businessman Moses Kamuntu Mwongyera.

All five are a common sight nowadays at public and informal gatherings within the district like weddings, Sacco’s meetings and funerals.

They have also formed organizations, through which they make donations to bodaboda riders like helmets and reflector jackets funding their associations, women groups, holding football tournaments, visiting churches and giving donations.

One of the aspirants, Moses Mwongyera Kamuntu, says that he wants to promote youth and women development and improving the household income by supporting the women.

Dan Bukenya says he decided to embark on early campaigns to sensitize masses about the role of MPs and tell them to make right choices when they return to the polls in 2021.

Henry Banyenzaki says she wants to return to parliament to change the representation which, according to him does not presently capture the interests and wishes of the electorate.


The area MP Eng. Sabiiti has often been accused of going against his constituents, particularly his vote on the age limit constitutional amendment.

The MP however, described the aspirants as saboteurs and accusec them of campaigning at the wrong time.

He said such activities tend to divert people from working for progress.

According to a road map released by the Electoral Commission, the nomination of Parliamentary candidates is scheduled to take place on 12th August 2020, ahead of campaigns that will start on 16th August   2020.

Eng Denis Sabiiti in 2016 defeated long time MP Henry Banyenzaki whom had represented the constituency since 2006.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker