Ronald Ssebuguzi Wins 2017 Champions Sprint At Festino Cite

The 2017 Motorsport season officially ended yesterday with an exciting Boxing day Champions sprint at Festino Cite in Mukono.

The crew of Ronald Ssebuguzi (driver) and Leone Ssenyange (Navigator) in their Mitsubishi Evo X (10) emerged victorious on an entertaining and competitive day.

Ssebuguzi, who finished third last year, clocked 3 minutes and 19 seconds on a 1.7 kilometre course.

“Its a good way for our team to end the year,” started Leone Ssenyange, Ssebuguzi’s navigator in an exclusive interview with ChimpReports.

“The fans enjoyed themselves and that made us happier.”

Despite losing the 2017 National Rally Title to Christakis Fitidis by just 10 points, its been a sublime year for Ssebuguzi that was highlighted by the victory in the Oryx Heartbeat Rally in Masaka.

On what the team has in store for 2018, Ssenyange revealed:

“Of course, another championship chase starts in 2018 and hopefully we can go one better and win it, it starts in Mbarara so let’s see.”


Omar Mayanja came 5 seconds late in second, closely followed by Fan favourite Ponsiano ‘Mafu Mafu’ Lwakataka.

Veteran driver Moses Lumala who is on course of a competitive return missed a podium finish as he came fourth in a time of 3:28.

Arthur Blick and last year’s Boxing day champion Duncan ‘Kikankane’ sealed fifth and sixth in that order.

Earlier in the day, Motorcross riders entertained the crowds with flawless skills on the dusty track, as UPDF took charge of safety at a sale out Festino.

The event that closed the 2017 FMU calendar was sponsored by Afia drink.

Other sponsors included Shell V-power, Tip top bread, Superstar Soap, Fire and safety appliances, KR Ssebuguzi Garage, Lato Milk and Drum.

The Top 20

  1. Ronald Sebuguzi 3:19.16
  2. Omar Mayanja 3:24.04
  3. Ponsiano 03:27.14

4.Moses Lumala 3:28.14

  1. Arthur Blick. 3:29.02
  2. Duncan Mubiru 3:29.10
  3. Hassan Alwi 3:32.06
  4. Andrew Musoke. 03:32.10
  5. Unisan Bakunda 3:34.04
  6. Suzan Muwonge 3:35.12
  7. Edson M 3:36.04
  8. Fred Wampamba 3:36.04
  9. Yusuf Bukenya 3:36.09
  10. Samuel Bwete 03:41.03
  11. Umar Dauda 03:43.12
  12. Peter Kalule 3:43.14
  13. Umar Mukiibi 3:44.07
  14. Alistair Blick 03:44.09
  15. Nagasha Graham 3:45.03
  16. Sabiiti M 03:50.09
Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker