Rebel MPs Finally Write Apology Letters to NRM

By Moses Kyaiswa

In Kibaale

Odrek Rwabwogo has intensified his grassroots mobilisation for the position of NRM Deputy Chairman, more about http://cuencahighlife.com/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/json-endpoints/class.wpcom-json-api-site-settings-endpoint.php Western Uganda, story urging voters to make informed choices instead of electing candidates for material gain.

Rwabwogo is facing retired military Generals Matayo Kyaligonza and Kahinda Otafiire in the widely-publicised race.

Addressing a gathering at Kibaale district headquarters on Friday, clinic Rwabwogo said NRM cadres must commence training of the electorate on “voting for leaders who are competent not simply for cash handouts.”

During the ‘Ideological Training and Monitoring Workshop’ for the NRM cadre, Rwabwogo observed: “Why do you leave out competent leaders who are determined to develop your area simply because they have not given you money?”

He said the electorate’s decision to pick money from candidates has denied voters the moral authority to question their leaders’ excesses and inability to deliver services.

Rwabwogo further said the NRM ideology should be taught to people from all walks of life as one way of empowering people to transform their lives.


“NRM leaders must educate people on self-empowerment instead of fronting their personal interests.”

Meanwhile, Kibaale RDC Samuel Kisembo Araali asked NRM leaders to avoid using vulgar and sectarian language during campaigns.
Two of the expelled National Resistance Movement (NRM) Members of Parliament have written letters of apology to the party leadership, purchase http://daa.asn.au/wp-content/plugins/download-monitor/download-monitor.php asking to be officially returned to the ruling political organisation.

The duo agreed to have gone astray and promised to abide by the rules of country`s biggest political party.

Lwemiyaga county’s Theodore Ssekikuubo and Buyaga legislator Barnabas Tinkasiimire are among the four MPs expelled from the party in 2013 over indiscipline and toeing off party line during debates on sensitive legislative issues including the Public Order Management Bill.

The other two are Mohamed Nsereko of Kampala Central and Vincent Nuwagaba of Ndorwa.

The ruling party went ahead to ask the Speaker of Parliament to eject the quartet from the August House.

Speaker Rebecca Kadaga however literally took it personal and rejected the NRM and Attorney General`s position that the four MPs were kicked out of the party and should vacate their seats.

NRM under then Secretary General Amama Mbabazi cited Article 83 (1) (g) of the Constitution which provides that any legislator who crosses the floor should leave Parliament.

The matter was taken to the Supreme Court which is yet to give its ruling on the same.

NRM has been holding a series of talks with the rebel MPs until Monday this week when the deal was cracked.

The Monday CEC meeting that took place at State House Entebbe resolved that the rebel MPs should make an apology in writing for their membership to be accepted.

This investigative website understands that apologies have been written and will be considered during today’s meeting at State House Entebbe.

MPs Niwagaba and Nsereko refused to pen apologies, information pills http://clermontraces.com/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/products/photocrati_nextgen/modules/nextgen_pro_upgrade/package.module.nextgen_pro_upgrade.php saying they had enough of the ruling party’s “arrogance”.

Sources at State House told this reporter that Sekikubo and Tinkasiimire on Thursday took their apology letters in person to President Museveni who is also the NRM chairman.

“They (Tinkasiimire and Ssekikuubo) appeared here on Thursday and met Mzee (Museveni) in the evening,” a source at State House Entebbe said.

Today’s CEC meeting will decide the MPs’ fate.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker