Pool: Ndyagumanawe, Namanya Clash Key Highlight as Pool National Open Round Draws Are Held

National Pool Championship
MTN Arena, try http://codefor.asia/wp-admin/includes/template.php Lugogo
Saturday, buy 22nd October 2016

The hype and anticipation ahead of the 2016 National pool open is continuing to build as players get ready for the championship due this weekend at the MTN arena, viagra approved Lugogo.

The fixtures for the 128 finalists were drawn on Tuesday at Rock Catalina bar in Ntinda, Kampala and the Amos Ndyagunanawe vs Fred Namanya clash was the key highlight of the draw.

The 2016 national pool championship that cued off on 22nd July with over 1,024 participants is expected to end this weekend with only 128 players taking part in the finals.

Ndyagumanawe ” Real shooter’ who is the defending champion will take on Fred “Bonde” Namanya in the first round in an epic clash.

The two players have won the title previously with Ndyagumanawe winning it last year while Namanya won the grand prize in 2009.

Ndyagumanawe who plays with Skin Samona in the league is confident he will defend his title and go past Namanya.

“I respect him (Namanya) because he won the title before me but I’m ready for the challenge and it is not the first time I’m playing against him,” said the defending champion who was present during the draws.


“Personally I feel no pressure. I know there is a jinx of not defending the title but that can end this time round,” said a confident Ndyagumanawe.

The defending champion (also seed one) was drawn first taking the first position while Fred Namanya who qualified through the regional qualifiers from Pool Nest bar, Kireka took slot 2 which meant the two will meet in the first round.

This will also be the clash to cue off the tournament on Saturday at 9am on the centre table.

The other seeded players include Matovu Sula,Ssewankambo Fahad Alfred Gumikiriza,Nsubuga Humphrey, Oscar Ocakachon, Lubuurwa Simon and Kasozi Joseph who are seeded 2-8 in that order.

While conducting the draws Robert Kayanja indicated that the seeded eight players cannot meet in the first round while the top two can only meet in the finals. A total of 128 players will take part in this year’s finals.

Besides the top 8 seeded players, the other 120 come from 32 different venues that were used to determine regional qualifiers.

Minister of state for Sports, Hon. Charles Bakkabulindi is expected to be the guest of honour.

Amos Ndyagumanawe defeated Alfred Gumikiriza 7-5 to be crowned champion last year.

The winner will walk away with a brand new Mark II car, 2 pool tables and UgShs 2 million.

Top 8 seeds

  1. Amos Ndyagumanawe 01
    2.Matovu Sula. 128
    3. Fahad Ssewankambo. 65
    4. Alfred Gumikiriza. 64
    5. Nsubuga Humphrey. 33
    6. Oscar Ocakachon. 96
    7. Lubuurwa Simon. 97
    8. Kasozi Joseph. 32

Past winners

2001-Bob Meneni
2003- Jeff Miiro
2008-Jonah Turigye
2011-Halifan Ntwali
2012- Alfred Gumikiriza
2013-Jonah Turigye
2014-Fahad Ssewankambo
2015-Amos Ndyagumanawe

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker