Photos: Glamour As ‘Ekuula Pearl Of Africa’ Tourism Awards Announces Nominees

Wednesday evening was a night of joy as the tourism sector gathered at Protea Naguru Skyz hotel to release the nominees for the upcoming ‘Ekuula pearl of Africa’ tourism awards.

Talent Africa’s Ali Alibhai addressing guests

The awards that will be taking place on 29th March at the Sheraton Hotel Kampala.

While addressing guests yesterday night, Bismarck one of the organizers of the event said that this year’s edition will be different and unique with new categories involved.

He also said that voting, which will involve 50% Audience and 50% judges will be free on their website.

“The voting will be free on our website but it will take 50% audience and 50% judges. The judges do a lot of the ground work and put up the scouting team to see how the services are in different hotels,” he said.

Ekuula’s Bismarck addressing guests

He went on to explain the procedures on how different stake holders were shortlisted to make it to the final nominees list.

“The judges consider things like, if the Stake holder promotes Uganda as a top tourist destination alongside his or her private business or service, If the state holders facilities respect both local and international tourists, How the stake holder gives back to community, How it impacts the community, does it Promote both domestic and international tourism and the ethics and professionalism showed by the facility and the level of conservation and culture preservation,” he added.

Below is the full list of nominees;



Exceptional Social Media Promoter

Jonathan Bennah

Baluku Geofrey

Sarah Kagingo

Amos Wekesa

Best Tourism Photographer   

Mo Latif

Sebumma Ivan

Matias Mugisha

Peter Hogel.

Most Active Tourism Cluster

Kigezi Tourism Cluster


Eastern Entreprenurship Tourism Network

Acholi Tourism Cluster

Finest Traditional Dance Troupe

Crane Performers

Kika Dance Toupe

Mizizi Ensemble

Rockies Troupe

Best Private Wildlife Conservation Center

Reptile Village

Kavumba Wildlife Education Center

Rhino Fund Ug-Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary

The Crocodile Farm. (Camp Crocs)

Most User Friendly Tourism Association

Uganda Hotel Owners Asscoiation (Uhoa)

Association Of Uganda Tour Operators (Auto)

Uganda Safari Guides Association. (Usaga)

Uganda Community Tourism Assciation. (Ucota)

(Tourism Events Section)

Best Food Event Of The Year

Roast And Rhyme

Fish Festival

Rolex Festival

Muchomo Festival

Best Cultural Promotional Event

Ekyoto-International Cultural Fair

Bakiga Nation

Acholi Festival

Imbalu Cultural Festival

Fashion Event Of The Year     

Kampala Fashion Week

Abrayanz Style And Fashion Show

Pearl Of Africa Fashion Awards

Hot Pink Cat Walk-Malengo

Overall Best Tourism Event 2018

Bakiga Nation

Rolex Festival

Nyege Nyege Festival

Blankets And Wines

(Transporter’s Section)

Remarkable Digital Transporter

Quick Taxi

Safe Boda



Best Airline Of The Year (Domestic)

Eagle Air


Kampala Executive Aviation

Best Airline Of The Year-International (Economy Class)

Egypt Air

Ethiopian Airlines

Qatar Airways

South African Airways

Best Airline Of The Year-International (Business Class)

Brussles Airlines


Ethiopian Airlines


(Accomodation And Eating Houses)

Exceptional Fast Foods Restaurant

Java House


Chillies Restaurant

Café Javas

Best Ugandan Cuisines Restaurant

African Pot

Shaka Zulu Restaurant

2k Restaurant

Kembabazi’s Restaurant

Best Standard Service Hotel

Nyange Resort And Marina

Wash And Wheels-Mbale

Boma Hotel-Gulu

Hotel Triangle

Best Eco Safari Lodge

Serenada Eco Resort

Malakai Eco Lodge

Heritage Safari Lodge

Park View Safari Lodge

Outstanding New Hotel Of The Year


Hotel Triangle

Skyz Hotel Naguru

Golden Tulip

 Best Service And Luxury Business Hotel

Imperial Royale

Sheraton Hotel

Speke Resort Munyonyo

Serena Hotel

(Exceptional Personalities)

Young Tourism Achiever

Enid Mirembe (Rolex Festival)

Nataliey Bitature (Protea/Skyz)

Naminya Saleh  (Casa Del Tourista)

Owen Bigombe (Bakiga Nation)

Tourism Ambassodor Of The Year

Elma Chapel Challa(Miss Tourism Ug’18)

Quin Abenakyo (Reigning Miss World Africa)

Joshua Kiprui Cheptegei (Olympic Gold Medalist)

Zari Hassan (Socialite,Goodwill Ambassador)

Tourism Personality Of The Year

Amos Wekesa

Hon Kiwanda Godfrey Suubi

Barbra Adoso

Maria Baryomujura

Lifetime Tourism Achiever

(To Be Announced And Unveiled On The Awards Night)


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker