Parliament to Vet New Ministers On Friday

Parliament’s Appointments Committee will tomorrow Friday, sit to vet the newly appointed members of Cabinet.

According to Parliament Clerk Jane Kibirige, the Minister designates will be facing the Committee that’s headed by Speaker of the House Rebecca Kagada, at 9:30 in the South Committee Room.

The MPs will kick off the vetting with the new Local Government Minister designate Hon Raphael Magezi.

The Igara County West shot to prominence in 2017, when he successfully sponsored a bill that removed the Presidential Age Limit from the constitution.

Others to face the MPs are Judith Nabakooba, (Information and ICT), Molly Kamukama (Economic Monitoring), Robinah Nabbanja (State Minister Health – General Duties), Jackson Kafuuzi (Deputy Attorney General) Beatrice Anywar (Environment), Peter Ogwang (ICT and Communication) and Hellen Adoa (Fisheries).

Each one of the new minister designates will face the appointments committee for 30minutes.

The Committee in 2016 rejected two of the 88 Ministers that President Yoweri Museveni had appointed at the start of his new term.

Adrian Tibaleka who had been appointed as State Minister for the Elderly and Disabled and Ismail Orot who was supposed to be State Minister for Works were found lacking by the MPs.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker