Parliament to Declare Cities Today

Parliament is on Tuesday expected to declare the first 5 of the 15 new cities set to be operational on July 2020.

The Parliament’s order of business (Order Paper) of today indicates that the new Local Government Minister, Raphael Magyezi will present to Members of Parliament during the plenary sitting, a motion for a resolution for the alteration of boundaries and declaration cities.

“Motion for a resolution of Parliament on alteration of boundaries under article 179 (1) of the Constitution and declaration of cities under section 7 (2a) of the Local Government’s Act Cap 243,” said Parliament’s order of business number 7.

ChimpReports however understands that some members of Parliament led by a former minister from Kigezi region are against the move over the exclusion of other municipalities and are ready to put a strong resistance.

Cabinet in May 2019 approved the elevation of 5 municipalities including Arua, Gulu, Jinja, Fort Portal and Mbarara to city status effective July 1, 2020.

Former Minister of Local Government, Col. Tom Butime announced in May last year that government had already put in place funds to finance the new cities.

“We have set aside a budget of Shs130b to operationalize the cities, with the first lot starting operations in July 2020,” said Butime.

Each city is expected to have two divisions for directly elected MPs and one female MP.


Other two municipalities to be elevated in July 2021 to city status are Hoima and Mbale. The third phase is going to benefit Lira and Entebbe municipalities in July 2022.

Other municipalities set to become cities after Lira and Entebbe are Nakasongola, Moroto, Masaka, Soroti, Kabale and Wakiso.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker