Parliament Overwhelmingly Approves Creation of 15 New Cities

Parliament on Tuesday, April 28 overwhelmingly approved the creation of 15 new cities, seven of which will be operational effective July 1.
On three occasions last year, debate on the motion flopped over lack of quorum.
But this time round, several MPs even chose to vote online from wherever they were, with the motion easily sailing through after 303 voted in favour.
Only State Minister for Minerals, Ms Sarah Opendi voted against the motion, arguing that the government is still preoccupied with coronavirus and has no funds to operationalize the new cities.
 The cities that will start July 1, 2020 are; Arua, Gulu, Jinja, Mbarara, Fortportal, and, Mbarara.     The other cities that will come later are; Hoima, Lira, Soroti, Entebbe, Moroto, Nakasongola, Kabale and Wakiso.
 Local Government Minister, Raphael Magyezi said the second clusters of cities to be operationalised in the 2021/22 Financial Year are; Hoima (the Oil City), Lira and Soroti. In the FY 2022/23, only Entebbe City will be operationalised while; Moroto, Nakasongola, Kabale and Wakiso cities will start in July 2023.
Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker