Golflatest newsNewsSliderSport>AthleticsSport>Basket BallSport>BoxingSport>CricketSport>KickboxingSport>Motor sportSport>NetballSport>PoolSport>RallySport>RugbySport>SoccerSport>Table TennisSport>TennisSport>Volleyball

Onyango, Wokorach, Cheptegei Shortlisted for 2018 USPA Sports Personality Award


Like it has been a norm for sports journalists in Uganda under their umbrella body Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) to vote for most excelling sportsmen annually, 2018 will not be exceptional.

The scribes on Monday went through a tedious process at Imperial Royale hotel in Kampala to vote for the best performers in various sports disciplines. The athletes will be crowned in an awards gala on a date yet to be communicated.

Uganda Cranes skipper Dennis Onyango who won the coveted award in 2016 will still be in contention this year after a successful 2018 for the gangly shot stopper who plies his trade at Mamelodi Sundowns in South Africa.

Recently named in 2018 Africa’s best XI, Onyango who has been voted the best footballer for 2018 won the league title with Sundowns before helping Uganda Cranes qualify for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations where he is the only goalkeeper yet to concede a goal.

He will be up against long distance runner Joshua Cheptegei who won gold in the 5,000 and 10,000km at the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Gold coast, Australia. In total Cheptegei won seven of the eight events he participated in.

The other contenders for the Sports personality of the year include Rugby player Phillip Wokorach who plays for Kabras Sugars in Kenya and She Cranes/ Prison’s netball player Lilian Ajio.

Wokorach was instrumental both for club and country in 2018 while Ajio on the other hand helped Prisons netball team win the league and East Africa club championship.


She was part of the She Cranes team that qualified for the World Cup and won the East Africa championship in Burundi.

Full list of nominees and winners
Nominees for Sports Personality of the Year
-Denis Onyango (soccer)
-Philip Wokorach (Rugby)
-Joshua Cheptegei (Athletics)
-Lilian Ajio (Netball)

Nominees for Most Organised Event:
-Uganda Golf open
-Pool championship
-Badminton Classification Competition for people with disability.
-KAVC Invitation

Nominees for Best Run Federation:
-Uganda Athletics Federation
-Uganda woodball Federation

Nominees for Team of the year
-Uganda Cranes
-Pirates Rugby Club
-Uganda Netball team

Individual Athletes of the year
Male: Joshua Cheptegei
Female: Stella Chesang

Juma Miiro

Male: Denis Onyango
Female: Ruth Aturo

Suzan Muwonge & Edmond Kyeyune.

Male: Ronald Otile
Female: Eva Magala

Male: Riazat Ali Shah
Female: Immaculate Nakisuuyi

Male: Bwanika Mansoor
Female: Ritah Nimusiima

Lawn Tennis
Boris Aguma

Boby building
Isaac Mubikirwa

Male: Brian Kasirye
Female: Husnah Kobugabe

Karate (pending)

Table Tennis (disqualified due to having two leadership factions.)

Male: Watson Mugume
Female: Denise Nanjeru

Weightlifting (Pending)

Male: Philip Wokorach (Kenya Harlequins)
Female: Emilly Lekuru (Black Pearls)

Male: Jimmy Enabu (City Oilers)
Female: Jamila Nansikombi (JKL)

Male: Arthur Ssegwanyi
Female: Penina Nakabo

Male: Smith Okumu (NEMO)
Female: Habiba Namala (NKUMBA)

Lilian Ajio

Cycling (disqualified on grounds of two leadership factions)

Male: Eddy Baguma
Female: Harriet Akot

Patricia Apolot

Rose Nsereko

Male: Francis Ongom (Ndejje)
Female: Sarah Nanyazi (UPDF)

Male: Ambala Atuhaire (17years)
Female: Kirabo Namutebi (13years)

Male: Colins Batusa
Female: Doreen Mbabazi

27. Motocross
Stav Orland (13years)-UMX

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker