Onyango Beaten to Goalkeeper of the Season Gong

Bidvest Wits Keeper Darren Keet was on Monday night crowned Premier soccer League ((PSL) Goalkeeper of the Season 2016/17 after helping his club win their first league title since the club was formed 95 years ago.

Keet beat Uganda Cranes shot-stopper Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Shu-Aib Walters of Cape Town city to the prestigious award.

Onyango was the defending champion of this gong after winning it last year in May against Moenneeb Josephs and Sha-Aib Walters who was then at Mpumalang Black Aces FC.

Some of the past recognised winners of the PSL best goalkeeper gong include Moeneeb Josephs in 2010, Kennedy Mweene in 2009 and Itumeleng Khune in 2008.

The biggest winner of the night was Lebogang Manyama the Cape Town city captain scooped 3 awards including the night’s biggest accolade for Footballer of the season award beating off Bidvest captain Thulani Hlatshwayo and Onyango’s club team mate Hlompho Kekana.

The other two awards for Manyama were Players’ Player of the season and Top Scorer award.

Bidvest Wits Keeper Darren Keet who was crown Goalkeeper of the Season at the award gala last night
Bidvest Wits Keeper Darren Keet who was crown Goalkeeper of the Season at the award gala last night

Here is the selected list for all the nominees and winners on the prestigious night

PSL Footballer of the Season

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits)

Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City) — Winner

Absa Premiership Top Goal Scorer:


Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season:

Manyama — Winner

Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City)

Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season:

Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits) — Winner

Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Shu-Aib Walters (Cape Town City)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season:

Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits) — Winner

Sifiso Hlanti (Bidvest Wits)

Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season:

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Thabang Monare (Bidvest Wits)

Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City) — Winner

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season:

Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Phakamani Mahlambi (Bidvest Wits) — WINNER

Nduduzo Sibiya (L.Golden Arrows)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season

Gavin Hunt (Bidvest Wits) — Winner

Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Eric Tinkler (Cape Town City)

Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season:

Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs vs SuperSport United) — Winner

Oscarine Masuluke (Baroka FC)

Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs vs Free State Stars)


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker