NUP Candidate, Zaituni, Quits Sembabule MP Race; NRM’s Begumisa Unopposed

Zaituni Yahaya Bakikola, the National Unity Platform (NUP) flag-bearer for Sembabule district Woman Parliamentary seat has officially stepped down from the race.

Zaituni has since asked Electoral Commission (EC) to strike her name off the list of candidates contesting for the MP seat.

“Due to motives well known to me, this notice is hereby made unequivocally to withdraw my candidature from the race and I don’t wish to contest in the aforementioned position,” said Zaitun in her letter dated Monday, November 2, 2020, addressed to Sembabule District EC Returning officer.

Her withdrawal from the race has left Mary Begumisa – the National Resistance Movement (NRM) flag bearer unopposed and thus the MP for this consistency 2021.

This increased the number of unopposed NRM Members of Parliament from seven to eight in total.

They include Pius Wakabi for Bugahya County, Hoima District; Anita Among for Bukedea woman Member of Parliament; Hilary Lokwang of Ik County in Kaabong District and Enock Nyongore for Nakaseke North, Nakaseke District

Others are Emely Kugonza of Buyanja East, Kibaale District, Lillian Papalu Obiale for Woman MP Arua District as well as Gyavira Ssemwanga of Buyamba County, Rakai District.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker