NRM Won’t Hold Primaries for Toroma County By-elections

The national Electoral Commission Chairperson for the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party Dr Tanga Odoi has revealed that the party will not be holding primaries for the vacant Toroma County by-elections set for 18th May 2017.

The Toroma County seat fell vacant when MP Cyrus Amodoi Imalingat perished in a taxi accident along Kampala-Jinja Highway, case while traveling for the Women’s Day celebrations for Katakwi district.

Mr. Odoi told Chimpreports yesterday that the NRM party decided not to conduct primaries because they already have a flag bearer from the 2015 Primaries. (The deceased MP was an independent).

Odoi says he discussed this matter with local leaders led by Hon. Violet Akurut, the Katakwi district woman MP and a conclusion was made to maintain the status quo.

NRM Flag bearer Joseh Kaluo
NRM Flag bearer Joseh Koluo

“I also consulted with our candidate Mr. Joseph Koluo and he told me he was ready to carry the party flag,” said Odoi.

The EC boss was responding to emerging friction in Katakwi, as more NRM members came out to express interest in the seat.

So far, three other NRM members have declared interest. These are Solomon Osiya, who came fourth in the last primaries, John Robert Ekongot the former Katakwi District LCV chairman and one Herman Edyangu.

Mr. Osiya while speaking to this website said regardless of Odoi’s decision, he will still contest in the election.


Mr. Ekongot on the other hand while speaking in a function said, “It’s the people who are asking me to stand. If the party continues to deny me this chance, I will let the voters decide.”

The race for Toroma County for now seems to be between the NRM candidate Koluo and the likely numerous NRM leaning independents, while the rest of the opposition are not yet showing much strength.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker