NRM Tribunal Validates Rukutana Victory

The National Resistance Movement party election dispute tribunal has confirmed the State Minister of Labor, Mwesigwa Rukutana as the rightfully elected flagbearer for Rushenyi constituency.

The Tribunal which sat on Wednesday this week together with the petitioner, Naome Kabasharira and respondent Rukutana’s team at NRM E.C headquarters, Plot 13 Kyadondo, made its final ruling on Friday afternoon validating the results declared by Tanga Odoi on September 23, 2020.

“On the whole, the Tribunal finds that the Respondent Mwesigwa Rukutana was validly elected as NRM flagbearer for the position of Member of Parliament for Rushenyi County,” said the ruling.

Tanga Odoi on September 23 declared Rukutana the winner with 25,310 votes representing 46.27.% beating his close rival Kabasharira who got 25,290 votes (46.23%).

Other candidates in the same race were Bob Karabayi, who garnered 2,270 (4.2%%) votes, Niwahereza Nicolous 1,229 (2.25%) and Nomani Kashereka 350 (0.5%) votes.

Kabasharira was at first declared the winner with 24,400 votes by the Ntungamo district NRM election officer, Maria Mirembe. She gave Rukutana 23,966 votes excluding the result of Nyakahita village where the state Minister had a significant win.

Rukutana lodged a successful petition resulting to the re-tallying of votes which commenced on September 15th 2020 from the NRM election headquarters. Tanga travelled to Rushenyi for a fact finding mission during the mayoral elections and met with the NRM members.

He reached Nyakahita cell where the registrar took off and didn’t announce the result when fierce fighting broke out between Kabasharira and Rukutana supporters.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker