NRM Sweeps Rubanda Polls

NRM has won all six positions of councilors representing youth, prescription elderly and people with disabilities in the newly created Rubanda district.

The elections that were  held on Friday at the Rubanda district  headquarters  in Murole in Ikumba  sub county  were presided over by the Rubanda  district  independent electoral  commission  registrar Ismail Tinkan Atwijukire.

Aggrey Bandebaho of  NRM  won the male youth seat after beating Amos Owakubariho of  Forum For democratic  change as he polled 118 votes against Owakubariho who got 41 votes , more about Olivia Arinaitwe  of NRM took the female  youth  councilor  as she beat the other two  Dorothy Nyakaishiki  of Uganda people’s congress and Jacenta Tushabomwe an independent candidate.

The female councilor for the elderly was taken by Regis Tukamuhebwa Barisigara of NRM defeating FDC’s Bertha Babunkiza and Teresa Tibeyahura an independent candidate.

Plaxeda Busingye sailed in unopposed to take seat as female representative of people with disabilities while Japheth Mwesigye was elected district male councilor for the elderly. Both of them were on the NRM ticket.

According to Ismail Tinkan Atwijukire the Electoral Commission registrar, the elections were peaceful. He added that the Commission was ready for the District Woman MP and LCV Chairprerson elections scheduled for August 29. Elections materials are set to arrive in the district today (Saturday).

Seven people are vying for the two seats. Those competing for the LCV seat include; Kenneth Jogo Biryabarema (NRM), Nelson Habasa (Independent), Jospeh Ruhangariyo (FDC) and Stephen Ampaire Kasyaba (Independent).

Hilda Kabarungi Karuhize (Independent), Prossy Akampurira Mbabazi (NRM) and Vastine Katushabe (FDC) are vying for the Woman seat.



Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker