NRM Releases Detailed Electoral Roadmap for 2021 General Elections

National Resistance Movement (NRM) has on Friday released a detailed electoral road map which will be followed in nominating party flag bearers on various positions in the forthcoming 2021 elections.

On unveiling this program at party headquarters in Kampala, Dr. Tanga Odoi the Chairperson of the NRM Electoral Commission pointed out that this time they have created a new position of District Election Officers.

This will include Sub-county Registrars, Village Registrars, and Parish Registrars with the intention of promoting efficiency.

“Picking of nomination forms for Presidential flag bearers, First National Vice Chairperson, Second National Vice Chairperson (female), 6 other chairpersons representing the Northern, Karamoja, Eastern, Kampala, Central and Western regions will be held on 20 to 22 July 2020,” Odoi revealed.

He asked those intending to contest in the forthcoming party primaries to ensure that they don’t engage in violent practices because such acts will not be tolerated.

“Anybody who is planning to attack someone in this exercise as it has been in other political parties, don’t dare while here at plot 13 or plot 10 Kyadondo,” he warned.

The NRM National Conference will be held from 7 to 8 August 2020 in observance with COVID-19 guidelines.

The nomination of people intending to contest for Parliamentary seats and LCV Chairpersons will be held according to their regions with Western region scheduled for 10 and 11 August 2020.


The nomination for Central and Kampala will be held on 14 to 15 August 2020, while Eastern region nominations will be held from 17 to 18 August 2020.

The elections for LCV and Members of Parliament will be on September 10, 2020, well as special interest groups will be elected on September 17, 2020, in observance of COVID19 preventive guidelines.

According to this roadmap which was passed by the Central Executive Committee (CEC) of NRM on Thursday, the election of MPs and Local council leaders will be by lining behind candidates well as for the CEC members and Presidential Flag Bearer shall be by the resolution by circulation format.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker