NRM Primaries: ‘Panadol’ Saves Ibanda from Minister Byabagambi Headache

The people of Ibanda Municipality, Western Uganda, are celebrating the defeat of Karamoja Affairs Minister Eng John Byabagambi by Dr John Paul Ninkusiima alias Panadol in Friday’s NRM MP primaries. 

Byabagambi obtained 12,534  (41.15%) votes against Panadol’s 15,983  (52.47%).

Area residents were shocked to learn that Byabagambi had directed his radio station known as Iraka FM from announcing Panadol’s victory.

“Does he think the world rotates around Iraka FM? He can go hang because Panadol has saved us from his headache,” said Michael Mubangizi, a boda boda rider in Ibanda Town.

“We were tired of Byabagambi and his arrogance and failure to articulate our pressing issues in Parliament,” he emphasised.

Panadol started grassroots mobilization work two years ago, reaching out to women and youth groups whom he promised economic empowerment.

“I am the Panadol of your headache (Byabagambi),” he once told a group of young men in the township.

Earlier this week, a prominent musician, Sister Charity released a video blasting Byabagambi for for not paying for a campaign song she composed for her.

In 2001, Byabagambi entered politics and won the parliamentary seat of Ibanda South constituency.

He was re-elected in 2006, 2011 and 2016 on the National Resistance Movement (NRM) political party ticket.

After serving as Minister of Works and Transport from 1 March 2015 until 6 June 2016, he was reassigned to Cabinet Minister for Karamoja on 6 June 2016.

Meanwhile, incumbent Ibanda Woman MP Jovrine Kaliisa lost the race to Jane Bainomugisha.

“I am both humbled and honored that you have placed your confidence and support in me as your Woman MP NRM Flagbearer Ibanda district,” said Bainomugisha.

“I am immensely grateful to everyone who so generously contributed their time and effort to our campaign during this election. I thank you all,” she added.

In Ibanda Municipality, former presidential candidate Prof Venansius Baryamureeba and area Mayor Deus Mulinde were defeated by incumbent Tarsis Rwaburindore.

Minister Byabagambi



1. Dr. Elvaida Twesigye – 1,555 (1.61%)

2. Jane Bainomugisha – 37,606 (38.96%)

3. Jovrine Kaliisa – 37,439 (38.79%)

4. Margaret Kiboijana – 19,319 (20.21%)

5. Asimire Obeth – 607 (0.63%)


1. Agaba Peter – 12,219 (31.29%)

2. Prof. Venansius Baryamureeba – 1,332 (3.4%)

3. Kanana Ambrose – 165 (0.43%)

4. Tarsis Rwaburindore – 13,276 (33.93%)

5. Murinde Deus – 12,136 (31.02%)

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker