NRM Primaries: Kitatta Defeats Mutabaazi in Lwengo

Mubiru Abbasi the National Resistance Movement (NRM) Returning Officer for Lwengo District has released final results as regards the LC V Chairperson election, with Ibrahim Kitatta as the winner after defeating George Mutabaazi the incumbent.

“I therefore declare Kitatta Ibrahim, who has polled the highest number of votes (31,688) representing 62.9%, as a duly elected NRM flag bearer for LC.V chairperson for Lwengo District 2020,” he announced.

As has been the case in the NRM primaries, the Lwengo election also had incidents of violence. One of the candidates, Mutabaazi, was arrested after some of the residents accused him of assaulting and injuring them having realized that they didn’t support his candidature.

Results from some districts have been released and others are yet to be released by the area returning officers.

Mutabaazi has been the chairman of Lwengo since 2011 and he became popular when he appeared on various media outlets caning lazy residents and drunkards who were in bars during working hours.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker