NRM Concedes Defeat in Rukungiri By-election

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) have acknowledged loss in yesterday’s Rukungiri District Woman MP By-election, and committed to “learn from their mistakes” to win future by-elections.

The NRM candidate in the race, Winnie Matsiko who was the incumbent, lost together with two others, to FDC’s Betty Muzanira.

The District Returning Officer, Umar Kiyimba on Friday announced Muzanira as winner having polled 50611 votes, while her closest contender Matsiko managed 46379.

The NRM Spokesperson Rogers Mulindwa in a Friday conceded defeat, stating, “Going by the official results released by the Electoral Commission earlier this morning, we lost the by-election in Rukungiri to FDC.”

Mulindwa said the party Secretary General Rt. Hon. Justine Kasule Lumumba will soon be tabling the results before the Central Executive Committee (CEC) for further administrative guidance.

The party mouthpiece says the NRM was dismayed, nonetheless, by its own members who went against the official party position.

“NRM lost the race but there are good signs of winning the bigger battle in this area in future,” he said.

“By today we have had a total of 36 by-elections involving only the positions of MPs and District Chairpersons across the country. Of these, NRM has won 27, FDC 2 (Jinja East & Rukungiri) , DP 1 (Kyotera) and the remaining 6 slots have gone to independents. This performance is evident that NRM is the most treasured political  party in our country,” Mulindwa said.


“From Rukungiri we are going back to the drawing board to evaluate ourselves and set winning strategies for the pending by-elections.”

The Rukungiri Woman MP seat fell vacant after Court of Appeal nullified Matsiko’s election on 12th April 2018   following a petition by   Muzanira.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker