Nominees for ‘Ekkula Tourism Awards’ 5th Edition Announced

The Nominees list for the 5th edition of ‘Ekkula Tourism Awards’ is finally out.

Ekkula PAT Awards and Exhibition is an annual activity that researches, nominates, exhibits, recognizes and awards those that selflessly put Uganda’s tourism to admirable heights.

The event continues to recognize, inspire and motivate key tourism players in the tourism industry.

Running under the theme “celebrating tourism investments and jobs for better future,” the event will be happening Friday 27, 2020 at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel.

This year’s awards are as a result of intensive research made to conduct these exhibitions and awards with collaboration and guidance from the Ministry of Tourism Wildlife and Antiquities and its Agencies.

The public was engaged to nominate their best suitors per category through the official website and the quality assurance team finally came up with a report of nominees which were handed over to the judges for approval.

Below is a list of categories;

Most Active Tourism Cluster


Busoga Tourism Cluster

Kigezi Tourism Cluster

Northern Uganda Tourism Cluster

Buganda Heritage and Tourism


Sebuuma Ivan

Peter Hogel

Mugisha Mathias

Ssenyonyi Derrick

Edgar Batte

Best Private Wildlife Conservation Center   

Camp Crocs/Uganda Crocs

Kavumba Recreation Center

Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary

Elmarat Crocodile Farm

Most User Friendly Tourism Association 

Uganda Safari Guides Association (USAGA)

Uganda Hotel Owners Association (UHOA)

Association of Uganda Tour Operators   (AUTO)

Uganda Community Tourism Association (UCOTA)

The Uganda Travel Agents Association    (TUGATA)

Exceptional Social Media Promoter       

Charlotte Diary of a Muzungu

Jonathan Bennah

Pamela Amia

Baluku Geoffrey

Sarah Kagingo

Baluku Geoffrey

Best Food Event of the Year

Ekyoto Food Festival

Rolex Festival

Nsene Ku Beat

Vegan Festival

Fish Festival

Overall Best Tourism Event

Pearl of Africa Tourism Expo

Abraynz Fashion Show

Nyege Nyege Festival

Rolex Festival

Fish Festival

World Wildlife Day

World Tourism Day

World Museum Day

Outstanding Quality First Foods Restaurant


Java House

Café Javas

Food Hub

Remarkable Digital Transporter



Safe Boda

Finest Traditional Dance Troupe

Rockies Dance

Crane Performers

Kika Dance Troupe

Ndere Troupe

Best Airline of the Year (Economy Class)

Uganda Airlines

Egyptian Air

Qatar Airlines

Ethiopian Airlines

Turkish Airlines

Best Airline of the Year (Business Class)

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Brussels Airlines

Emirates Airlines

Qatar Airlines

Best Standard Service Hotel

Skyz Hotel Naguru

Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Mbale Resort Hotel


Best New Eco Safari Lodge

Adele Safari Lodge- Kidepo Valley National Park

Gorilla Heights-Bwindi

Kikorongo Safari Lodge-Queen Elizabeth National Park

Acaki Safari Lodge-Kidepo Valley National Park

Elephant Hab Safari Lodge-Queen Elizabeth

Exceptional New Hotel of the Year

Latitude 0 Degrees Hotel

Hilton-Garden Inn

The Athena Hotel

Hotel Triangle

Mestil Hotel

Best Service and Luxury Business Hotel

Latitude 0 Degrees Hotel

Best Western Premier-Garden Hotel. N

Serena Kampala Hotel

Speke Resort Munyonyo (Common Wealth)

Outstanding Tour Guides

Byaruhanga Herbert

Kamugisha Johnie

Kato Isa to be nominated by the relevant tour guides association for recognition.

Young Tourism Achiever

Enid Mirembe (Founder Rolex Festival)

Owen Bigombe (Founder Bakiga Nation)

Ricky Rapa Thompson (Co-Founder Safe Boda)

Tina Katushabe (Founder Change A Life Bwindi)

Tourism Personality of the Year

Pearl H. Kakooza

Amos Wekesa

Hon Kiwanda Godfrey

Hon Kamuntu Ephraim

Ajarova Lilly

Hon Kiwanda Godfrey

Pearl H. Kakooza

Lifetime Tourism Achiever

This is a unique personality whose lifetime achievements have stood the taste of time to impact lives emotionally, socially and economically in the tourism perspective. This one will be announced on the Awards Night of Friday 27th 2020 At Sheraton Hotel.

Voting started March 10, 2020 via the Ekkula official website which will account for 50% of the votes whereas the remaining 50% is upon the verdict of the Judges.



Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker