No Place for Onyango as CAF Names Final Shortlists for 2017 Awards

Confederation of African Football (CAF) has on Monday released the final shortlists different categories ahead of the 2017 awards gala.

The African continent governing body listed the top three nominees in each category but there was no spot for Uganda Cranes skipper and goalkeeper Dennis Masinde Onyango.

Onyango who plies his trade at Mamelodi Sundowns in South Africa was part of the 10 nominees in the African player of the year category but did not make the final three.

The final list has Mohammad Salah and Sadio Mane who play for Liverpool FC and Egypt and Senegal respectively. The other nominee is Pierre Emerick Aubemayang the captain of Gabon who plays with German’s outfit Borrusia Dortmund.

Surprisingly, the CAF player of the year based in Africa award which Onyango won last year has been scrapped off.

No official reasons for the move though reports indicate, the coaches didn’t vote in that category.

In the other notable categories, CAF national team of the year category has Cameroon, Egypt and Nigeria.

Nigeria put up sublime performance to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup while Egypt reached AFCON finals this year and also returned to World Cup after 20 years.


Cameroon on the other hand defied odds to clinch the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations.

The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday, 4th January in Ghana’s capital Accra.

African Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Women Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

Youth Player of the Year

Krepin Diatta (Senegal & Sarpsborg)

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)

Coach of the Year

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year

  • Al Ahly
  • TP Mazembe
  • Wydad Athletic Club

National Team of the Year

  • Cameroon
  • Egypt
  • Nigeria

Women’s National Team of the Year

  • Ghana U-20
  • Nigeria U-20
  • South Africa
Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker