New Rwampara District Councilors Boycott Election for Interim Chairman

Councilors representing the sub counties forming the newly created Rwampara district yesterday did not turn up to elect the interim district chairman.

The Acting Chairman was supposed to be elected among the seven councilors at the district council hall on Wednesday.

The councilors are from Rugando Sub County, Ndeija Sub County, Mwiizi Sub County and Bugamba Sub County. They include four directly elected councilors and three lady councilors.

Nicholas Twinomujuni, the district returning officer says however, that the exercise couldn’t take place because out of seven councilors only four turned and could not make the quorum.

We couldn’t hold elections because the quorum wasn’t made and this means that we shall apply to the electoral commission in order to gazette another day to hold the elections” Twinomujuni said.

“To hold the election we needed two thirds of the council, which is five councilors.”

The exercise had been advanced from 25th July 2019 to 24th July 2019 due the regional visit of President Yoweri Museveni.

Rwampara’s legislator Hon. Charles Ngabirano who had come to witness the exercise said he was disappointed by the councilors who were elected by the people to represent them.


“I am not happy with the behavior that our councilors exhibited. It is especially shameful that this coincided with the presidential visit,” he said.

He however asked the public to remain calm as the commission comes in to gazette another day.

Ngabirano warned that a bad start makes bad services delivery and revealed how they have held internal meeting preparing them for this day but they ended up being disorganized.

Councilors who were supposed to elect are Asaph Muhanguzi (Ndeija sub county), Arinanye Robert Bikye (Bugamba sub county), Justine Kakyaara Bugamba lady councilor (Bugamba sub county), Jordan Musinguzi (Mwizi sub county), patience Tumisirizi lady councilor (Mwizi subcounty), Alice Nakuya lady councilor (Rugando and Ndeija).

Only Robert Bikye Arinanye, Asaph Muhanguzi, Patience Tugumisisrize and Alice Nakuya turned up.

Interim elections were also conducted in the districts of Kitagwenda and Kazo.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker