Flavia Byekwaso Replaces Karemire as UPDF Spokesperson 

President Museveni has made changes in the top leadership of the armed forces, appointing female officer, Brig Flavia Byekwaso as they new army spokesperson to replace Brig Richard Karemire.

The 39 year old Byekwaso is currently serving as a Member of Parliament representing the UPDF. She becomes the country’s first female army mouthpiece.

She was recruited by the Ugandan military in 2000, starting out as a protocol officer. Over time, she worked in different roles, including as a Military Officer, as an administrative officer and as a  logistics officer. She spent the years from 2014 until 2016 serving as the Director of Logistics in the Uganda People’s Defence Forces

Karemire on the other hand takes over as Defence Liaison Officer at EAC, replacing Gen Victor Musinguzi who collapsed and died in his bathroom in Rukungiri.


Karemire has served for three years at the army spokesperson, having replaced Lt. Col. Paddy Ankunda in 2017.


Meanwhile in other changes, Former Special Forces Commander Maj Gen Don Nabasa has been appointed the Contingent Commander of AMISOM. He recently completed his military course in China.

In other notable changes, Brig Gen Felix Kulayigye, another UPDF Member of Parliament has been deployed to the Operation Wealth Creation (OWC).

More so, Col Keith Katungi has been named Commandant of the Military Police. He replaces Col. William Bainomugisha who took over from Brig Sabiiti Muzeeyi in 2018.

Below this the full list of the reshuffle.
1.Maj Gen Sam Kiwanuka- Chief of Production&Welfare.
2.Maj Gen Moses Ddiba Ssentongo_ Chief Mubende Rehabilitation Centre.
3.Maj Gen Hudson Mukasa_Chief of Staff Reserve Forces
4.Maj Gen Francis Okello_Comdt National Defense College.
5.Maj Gen Innocent Oula_Deputy MD NEC.
6.Maj Gen Don Nabasa_Contingent Commander-AMISOM.
7.Brig Gen Emanuel Rwashande _Chief Civil Military Cooperation
8.Brig Gen Stephen Oluka- deployed to OWC
9.Brig Gen George Etyang-OWC
10.Brig Gen Jeff Mukasa_ Director Counter Terrorism
11.Brig Gen William Beinomugisha- 2/ic 2 Division
12. Brig Gen James Kaija_Defense Advisor UK
13. Brig Gen Fred Karara_ DA Sudan
14. Brig Gen Christopher Bbossa_DA China.
15. Brig Gen Mike Kisame_ DA Kenya
16. Brig Gen Joseph Balikudembe 3 Div Commander
17. Brig Gen Simon Ocan- DA Switzerland
18.Brig Gen Michael Kabango_Seconded to AU Peace Support Operations Department.
19.Brig Gen Felix Kulayigye- OWC.
20.Brig Gen Mathew Gureme- Chief of Training
& Recruitment.
21.Brig Gen Richard Karemire _ Defence Liaison Officer(DLO) EAC Secretariat Headquarters.
22.Brig Gen Flavia Byekwaso-Defence Spokesperson
23. Brig Gen Tingira Irumba_ Chief of Policy& Plans
24. Brig Gen Charles Asiimwe _ Commander National Counter Terrorism Centre.
25.Brig Gen Richard Otto_ Deputy CMI
26.Brig Gen James Nambale_ DA Turkey.
27.Brig Gen Robert Ocama-OWC
28. Col Bahoku Barigye- DA Cuba
29. Col Keith Katungi Commandant Military Police.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker