Muzanira Takes FDC Flag for Rukungiri

Betty Bamutwasa Muzanira the incumbent Rukungiri District Woman Member of Parliament, has won the Forum for Democratic Change- FDC party primaries.

The party’s electoral commission in Rukungiri declared Muzanira the winner after she garnered 128 votes defeating her other three challenges Josselyn Winnie Babihuga, Phillis Ariho and Annet Namara. The elections were held at Rukungiri municipal stadium.

Babihuga was the district woman MP from 1996 to 2001 and she was among the founding members of Reform Agenda that metamorphosed into FDC

Muzanira was in 2018 elected the woman MP in a by-election after she successfully challenged the 2016 polls in courts of law and court of appeal nullified the election of Winfred Matsiko of NRM.

In other FDC primaries, Martin Byomuhangi won the LC5 flag by polling 137 votes, while his contenders Davis Muhamya got 54 votes and Emmanuel Tayebwa managed 6 votes.

Jack Sabiiti, the former Rukiga county MP who supervised the elections said the exercise was free and fair and he asked those that didn’t go through to support the flag bearers.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker