Museveni to Honor Uganda Cranes on Independence Day

President Yoweri Museveni will honor the Uganda Cranes team that qualified for the 2017 Africa cup of Nations after a period of nearly four decades in the cold.

The development was revealed by FUFA Communications Director, Mr. Ahmed Hussein on Friday evening through a statement.

“We are in receipt of the invitation dated 30th September, 2016 signed off by Chancellor/Secretary, Presidential Awards Committee, Businge S.T. Amooti which has a list of people to be honoured and was addressed to the Executive Director of Federation of Uganda Football Association,” said Hussein.

The ceremony will be part of the Heroes day celebration to be held on Independence day (October 9th) at the Luuka District Headquarters.

Ahmed also adds that, “The Committee has requested FUFA to inform and organise the people on the list to be at the venue on that day.

Missing in action
The list consists of 39 names; 27 players, the technical bench and support staff. None of the current Fufa officials including the National teams coordinator Mr. Patrick Ntege or above all the Fufa President Eng. Moses Magogo has been drafted in the list but surprisingly former boss and current Fufa honorary president Mr. Lawrence Mulindwa is long the 39 to be ‘knighted’ on Independence day.

Departed Former Cranes goalie Abbey Dhaira is among those to receive post humous award together with Fred Lukwago and Amir Kalanzi (RIP).

Full list
Denis Onyango, Nicholas Wadada, Joseph Ochaya, Isaac Isinde, Murshid Juuko, Khalid Aucho, Luwagga Kizito, Tony Mawejje, Geoffrey Massa, Farouk Miya, Moses Oloya, jamal Salim, Godfrey Walusimbi, Hassan Wasswa, Geoffrey Sserunkuma, Ivan Ntege, Yunus Ssentamu, Emmanuel Okwi, Denis Iguma, Robert Odongkara, Timothy Awanyi, Lubega Idrissa, Brian Majwega, Brian Umony, Yasser Mugerwa, Erisa Sekisambu, Richard Kassaga, Micho Sredojevic (Coach), Moses Basena (Assistant coach), Fred Kajoba, Ronald Kisolo (Team Doctor), Chris Muyinda (Team Manager), Ivan Ssewanyana (Team Physiotherapist), Ahmed Kabali (Team Driver), Saidi Lugolobi (Team Kits man), Lawrence Mulindwa, Fred Lukwago (RIP), Abby Dhaira (RIP), Amir Kalanzi (RIP).

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker