Mukongotya’s Solitary Strike Helps Kimaanya win Buganda Cup

Buganda cup final

Kimaanya 1-0 Kakungulu Memorial

Blessed Sacrament Kimaanya SS emerged winnners of the 2016 Buganda Cup secondary schools football edition after earning a hard fought win over Kakungulu Memorial SS.

In the final played on Saturday at Old Kampala SS playground, troche Robert Mukongotya’s first half strike was enough for Kimaanya to be crowned champions.

Kakungulu Memorial started the game the better side with Lemi Bosco wrecking havoc on Kimaanya’s central defence partnership of Paul Wasswa and Philbert Obenchan.

Lemi came close to finding the target in the 25th minute when he dispossessed James Begisha but his effort wide a few inches off the target with goalkeeper Derrick Were already beaten.

The decisive moment of the gane came in the 37th minute when  Mukongotya who also plays for Uganda premier league side URA FC met a cross from first half substitute Peter Mutebi from the right flank to fire into the back of the net.

After recess, information pills the Masaka based school opted to go defensive relying on counter attacks but Kakungulu Memorial who were pushing for the leveller lacked the cutting edge in the final third.

Noah Mugerwa, remedy the Kimaanya coach applauded his players for putting up a good performance.

” I feel happy that we are champions. The boys played their hearts out, and the performance was incredible and that’s what helped us to overcome them(Kakungulu Memorial), ” he stated.

Sulaiman Ssejjengo,the chairman of football in  Buganda region who was the guest of honour thanked the teams who participated and vowed to continue making the tournament better.

” I want to thank the schools who were involved in all the games this year. They incur a lot of money to make sure the teams take part.” Said Ssejjengo.

“We want to make the tournament a hub of nurturing talents just like it is the case with the Masaza cup. This tournament will help us  identify the outstanding athletes when they are still young,” he added.

Kimaanya starting XI
Derrick Were, James Begisha,Umar Kayemba,Paul Wasswa,Philbert Obenchan,Felix Okot,Faizo Bwanika,Paul Musasizi,Robert Mukongotya,Gerald Ogwetti,Otim Deo

Kakungulu Memorial starting XI
John Penda,Eric Ssenjobe,Amony Byamugisha,Mike Kintu,Julius Piroti,Rogers Adriko,Ivan Kazibwe,Farid Rashid,Lemi Bosco,Frank Ssenyondo, Abdallah Bogere

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker